The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

SEC represented on MLB All-Star rosters

372 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Peter Aiken | Getty Images

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- Major League Baseball All-Star Game rosters include 10 players from Southeastern Conference institutions.

Former SEC players on the American League roster include second baseman DJ LeMahieu (LSU-New York Yankees), third baseman Alex Bregman (LSU-Houston Astros), catcher James McCann (Arkansas-Chicago White Sox), outfielder Whit Merrifield (South Carolina-Kansas City Royals) and pitcher Mike Minor (Vanderbilt-Texas Rangers).

National League players from SEC institutions include first baseman Pete Alonso (Florida-New York Mets) and pitchers Walker Buehler (Vanderbilt-Los Angeles Dodgers), Sonny Gray (Vanderbilt-Cincinnati Reds), Max Scherzer (Missouri-Washington Nationals) and Brandon Woodruff (Mississippi State-Milwaukee Brewers).

Bregman and Alonso are also slated to participate in the Home Run Derby on Monday.

The 2019 MLB All-Star Game will be played Tuesday in Cleveland, Ohio.

SEC MLB All-Stars

American League
2B: DJ LeMahieu, Yankees (LSU)%
3B: Alex Bregman, Astros (LSU)%
C: James McCann, White Sox ^ (Arkansas)
OF: Whit Merrifield, Royals (South Carolina)
LHP: Mike Minor, Rangers (Vanderbilt)

National League
1B: Pete Alonso, Mets (Florida)
RHP: Walker Buehler, Dodgers ^ (Vanderbilt)
RHP: Sonny Gray, Reds + (Vanderbilt)
RHP: Max Scherzer, Nationals ^ (Missouri)
RHP: Brandon Woodruff, Brewers + (Mississippi State)