The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

2020 Big 12/SEC Challenge matchups set

386 days ago
Photo: Phil Ellsworth | ESPN Images

Birmingham, Ala. - The seventh annual Big 12/SEC Challenge will feature 10 games played on Saturday, January 25, 2020, in a matchup of two premier college basketball conferences.

All 10 of the Big 12's teams and 10 of the SEC's 14 member institutions will participate in this year's event. Each of the 10 SEC teams that participate in the 2020 Challenge will be a part of the 2021 event.

Seven SEC teams were selected to participate in the NCAA Tournament this past season with four advancing the Sweet 16, two to the Elite Eight and one to the Final Four. The SEC has had 15 NCAA Tournament selections over the past two years and every team in the league has appeared in the tournament over the last five years.

This will be the fifth year that a bye in the league schedule for participating teams was created to accommodate the single-day format. The four SEC teams not participating will play each other in conference games the same day. The first two years of the challenge were played over several days in November and December but the last five events have been consolidated to one single day in January.

All 10 games will be air across ESPN, ESPN2 and ESPNU and will be available on the ESPN app. ESPN's College GameDay Covered by State Farm - the Saturday roadshow that discusses the top storylines of the college basketball season - will originate from one of the Challenge games.

"The Big 12/SEC Challenge is a unique opportunity to showcase our basketball programs. Playing the event on a single-date in January puts our programs in the college basketball spotlight," SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey said.

Start times and network designations will be announced at a later date.

Big 12/SEC Challenge (January 25, 2020):

  • Kansas State at Alabama
  • TCU at Arkansas
  • Iowa State at Auburn
  • Baylor at Florida
  • Kentucky at Texas Tech
  • LSU at Texas
  • Mississippi State at Oklahoma
  • Missouri at West Virginia
  • Tennessee at Kansas
  • Oklahoma State at Texas A&M