The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

SEC sends five teams to NCAA Soccer Tournament

204 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Jimmy Mitchell

Five Southeastern Conference teams highlight the field of 64 that will be competing for the 38th NCAA Division I Women's Soccer Championship.

South Carolina earned a No. 2 national seed while Arkansas is a No. 3 seed. Joining the Gamecocks and Razorbacks in the field are Florida, Texas A&M and Vanderbilt.

Four of the five teams earned the right to host their opening round match on their home pitch.

All preliminary-round competition will take place at campus sites. First-round games will be played Nov. 15, 16 and 17. Second- and third-round games will be played Friday, Nov. 22 and Sunday, Nov. 24, and Quarterfinal games will be played Nov. 29 or 30.

Arkansas is competing in the NCAA Tournament for the sixth time in the last seven years. The 2019 SEC Champion received the highest NCAA seeding in school history.

Florida returns to the NCAA Tournament to make its 22nd appearance. The Gators are hosting an opening round game for the 20th time in school history.

South Carolina is making its 12th trip to the NCAA Tournament in the last 13 years. The SEC Tournament champions will host their first round game for the eighth straight time.

The Aggies are making their 25th NCAA Tournament appearance and is hosting its first round game for the eighth time in the last nine years. Texas A&M's G Guerrieri and North Carolina's Anson Dorrance are the only two coaches to appear in every NCAA Championship since 1995.

Vanderbilt earned its third consecutive NCAA Tournament and 10th overall. The SEC Eastern Division champions will have to open on the road for the sixth time in school history.

First Round NCAA Tournament Matchups

North Texas at #3 Arkansas

Vanderbilt at Clemson

South Fla. at Florida

Samford at #2 South Carolina

Texas at Texas A&M