The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Four from SEC earn automatic bids to NCAA Championships

242 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: UK Athletics

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- Four SEC cross country teams earned automatic bids to the NCAA Championships by placing in the top-two of the NCAA Regionals on Friday.

The Arkansas men's and women's teams and the Ole Miss men's and women's teams advanced to the NCAA Championships to be held Nov. 23 in Terre Haute, Ind. The Arkansas women placed first in the South Central Region Championships held in Fayetteville, while the men finished second. The Ole Miss men won the South Region Championships in Tallahassee, Fla., while the Ole Miss women placed second.

Eighteen teams automatically qualify for the NCAA Championships by finishing as one of the top two teams at any of the nine regional races. The remaining 13 at-large teams for the final site are selected by the NCAA Division I Cross Country Subcommittee. Thirty-six individuals automatically qualify for the championships races by being one of the top four regional finishers not on an advancing team. Two additional individuals are selected at large by the committee.

Other SEC teams finishing in the top-five of the NCAA Regionals include: Missouri women (5th, Midwest Region); Alabama men (3rd, South Region); Tennessee women (3rd, South Region); Vanderbilt women (5th, South Region); Texas A&M men (3rd, South Central Region); and Texas A&M women (3rd, South Central Region).

Individual champions from the SEC include Auburn's Joyce Kimeli in the South Region (19:59.5); Alabama's Gilbert Kigen in the South Region (29:45.5); and Arkansas' Taylor Werner in the South Central Region (20:30.3).

The NCAA will announce its at-large team selections on Saturday.