The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Two SEC athletes named finalists for Haskins Award

102 days ago
SEC Staff

Georgia golfer Davis Thompson has been selected as one of the three finalists for the 2020 Haskins Award, according to an announcement Tuesday by the Haskins Commission, Golfweek, and Golf Channel.

The Haskins Award, often called the Heisman Trophy of college golf, has been presented annually since 1971 to the nation's top player. Georgia's Russell Henley won the Haskins Award in 2010 and his trophy is housed inside the Boyd Center at the UGA Golf Course.

Joining Thompson on the final list are John Augenstein of Vanderbilt and Sahith Theegala of Pepperdine. The winner will be announced May 8 and will earn an exemption into the PGA Tour's A Military Tribute at the Greenbrier.

Thompson, a junior from Auburn, Ala., is No. 5 in the World Amateur Golf Ranking. He ended the year with a scoring average of 69.95, including nine rounds in the 60s. Thompson won the Jim Rivers Invitational last fall and had four additional top-10 finishes this season. He played on sponsor exemptions in the 2019 RSM Classic and the 2020 Puerto Rico Open on the PGA Tour. By virtue of winning the Jones Cup Invitational, he earned another berth in the 2020 RSM Classic. Thompson has been chosen to compete for the United States in the Arnold Palmer Cup in Dec. 21-23 at Bay Hill Club in Orlando, Fla.

Vanderbilt golfer John Augenstein has been named one of three finalists for the Fred Haskins Award presented by Stifel, an award given annually to the most outstanding men's college golfer, as voted on by players, coaches and media members.

The honors are beginning to pile up for the senior from Owensboro, Kentucky, after his abbreviated 2019-20 campaign in which he averaged 69.95 strokes per round - the lowest average in the Southeastern Conference - and posted one individual tournament victory at the Desert Mountain Intercollegiate in Scottsdale, Arizona. Earlier this week, Augenstein was named as a finalist for the Ben Hogan Award, which is given annually to the top men's college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions over the past 12 months.

Augenstein, who played in seven events and completed 19 rounds, became the first Vanderbilt player to be named a finalist for the Hogan Award.

Augenstein is listed second in the Golfstat individual rankings and fourth in the Scratch Players World Amateur Ranking (SPWAR). Additionally, he ranks seventh in the Golfweek/Sagarin system and 17th in the World Amateur Golf Ranking (WAGR). He helped lead Team USA to victory at the 2019 Walker Cup by posting a 2-1-1 record. He also is a member of both the 2019 and 2020 United States Palmer Cup teams.

Last summer, Augenstein was the runner up at the U.S. Amateur Championship, earning berths into the 2020 Masters Tournament and 2020 U.S. Open. He tied for 12th during the medal round and was a finalist for Ben Hogan Award August Golfer of the Month accolades.

The winner of the award will be announced May 8.