The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Diaz sits at 709 and counting

42 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: SEC Staff

In his 32 seasons at the helm of Georgia men's tennis, Manuel Diaz has led the Bulldogs to four NCAA titles, two ITA National Indoor titles, 18 regular-season SEC crowns and 10 SEC tournament championships and on March 1, he became the winningest coach in SEC men's tennis history.

What makes the feat even more special, Diaz passed Dan Magill for the honor.

In 1954, Magill became Head Coach of Georgia's tennis program. He held the title for the next 34 years, building the program with a 706-183 record and two national championships. In addition, he built UGA's tennis complex, which was named in his honor and brought the ITA Collegiate Tennis Hall of Fame to Athens.

Diaz played for Magill from 1972-75. He was a three-time All-SEC selection and a two-time All-American as a player. When an injury sidetracked Diaz's professional career not long after college, Magill convinced him to come back to Georgia to be his assistant. It was a temporary assignment that turned the San Juan, Puerto Rico native into one of the most respected college tennis coaches in the nation.

Not long after being appointed successor by Magill himself, Diaz said he'd "never bearound long enough" to run down any of Magill's considerable records. Now, 32 years later he has done just that with no end in sight.

SEC All-Time Winningest Men's Tennis Coaches
Manny Diaz, Georgia 709-172
Dan Magill, Georgia 706-183
Dennis Emery, Kentucky 568-338
Bill Potter, Florida 415-122-2
Kent DeMars, South Carolina 390-291
Eric Shore, Auburn 359-293
Robert Cox, Arkansas 321-333
Jeff Brown, LSU 311-206
Mike DePalmer, Tennessee 299-119
Jerry Simmons, LSU 278-105