The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Overstreet, Kuykendall nominated for McWhorter award

37 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: SEC Staff

BIRMINGHAM, Alabama - Mason Overstreet of the Arkansas men's golf team and Tamara Kuykendall of the Razorback women's track and field team have been nominated for the H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship by the University of Arkansas.

The H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship has been presented by the Southeastern Conference since 1986 to the league's top male and female scholar-athletes.

The Southeastern Conference will name the 2020 recipients of the H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship in late May.

Highlights of Arkansas' nominees include:

Major: Sport Management

  •  Cumulative GPA of 3.886 in sport management
  •  2019 SEC Men's Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year
  •  2019 CoSIDA Academic All-District
  •  In seven semesters, has posted a perfect 4.0 four times to earn Chancellor's List and earned Dean's List (3.75-3.99 GPA) three times (only four career "B's")
  •  Career scoring average of 72.04 ranks 2nd on the school's all-time list
  •  His 459 career birdies rank third on the school's career list and his 13 eagles ties for first on the school's career list
  •  Has posted a 2019-20 scoring average of 71.46 to rank seventh on the school's single season list ... Also has the eighth-best, single-season scoring average in school history (71.52 in 2017-18) and the 16th-best (71.77 in 2018-19)
  •  Finished third in the 2019-20 season-opening Carmel Cup at Pebble Beach
  •  In 2019-20, had seven of his 24 rounds in the 60's, shooting 66 four times
  •  2017 NCAA runner-up
  •  2017 honorable mention All-American; 2018 All-Central Region

TAMARA KUYKENDALL, Arkansas, Track & Field
Major: Educational Studies

  •  Honors graduate, Educational Studies with 3.788 GPA
  •  SEC Honor Roll, 2017-18, 2018-19; SEC First Year Honor Roll, 2016-17
  •  Champions List: Spring 2017, Fall 2018, Fall 2019
  •  ADs List: Spring 2018, Spring 2019; Razorback Honor Roll: Fall 2016, Fall 2017
  •  NCAA Outdoor Championships bronze medalist (4x100-meter relay), 2019
  •  First leg of 4x100m relay which set Arkansas record (42.65), ranks as 7th fastest school all-time
  •  NCAA Outdoor Qualifier (100m), 2019
  •  Competed in SEC Indoor Championships, 2018, 2019, 2020
  •  Competed in SEC Outdoor Championship, 2018, 2019
  •  Career best times of 7.47 (60m), 11.45 (100m), 23.66 (200m)
  •  Ranks 8th in 100 meters on Arkansas all-time list

The SEC provides the league's male and female McWhorter Scholar-Athlete of the Year Post-Graduate Scholarship recipients with a $20,000 post-graduate scholarship. The 26 remaining male and female finalists for the award will also receive a $10,000 post-graduate scholarship.

The award recipients are chosen by a committee of Faculty Athletics Representatives from the 14 SEC institutions and are announced in May.

Last year's McWhorter Award recipients were Texas A&M track and field member Nathan Hite and Vanderbilt bowler Kristin Quah.