The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Schilleci, Nero nominated for McWhorter award

72 days ago
SEC Staff

BIRMINGHAM, Alabama - Blake Schilleci of the Auburn baseball team and Bailey Nero of the Tiger women's swimming and diving team have been nominated for the H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship by Auburn University.

The H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship has been presented by the Southeastern Conference since 1986 to the league's top male and female scholar-athletes.

The Southeastern Conference will name the 2020 recipients of the H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship in late May.

Highlights of Auburn's nominees include:

BLAKE SCHILLECI, Auburn, Baseball
Major: Software Engineering

  • Holds a 3.72 cumulative GPA in the Samuel Ginn College of Engineering
  • Received the Auburn Alumni Endowed Scholarship and the R. Conner Warren Endowed Scholarship
  • Four-time member of the Dean's List - Fall 2017, Spring 2018, Spring 2019, Fall 2019
  • Named to the 2019 Spring SEC Academic Honor Roll and to the 2017-18 First-Year SEC Academic Honor Roll
  • Named to the 2019 SEC Community Service Team
  • Interned with NASA last summer, working with the Launch Control System and its mission to go back to the moon
  • Has accepted a full-time job with Boeing and will work in its Defense, Space and Security division upon graduating in May
  • Two-year letterwinner for the Auburn baseball team (2018-19)
  • Posted career bests in appearances, ERA, innings and strikeouts as a senior a year ago
  • 2019 College World Series participant

BAILEY NERO, Auburn, Swimming & Diving
Major: Biochemistry

  • Graduated with a bachelor's degree in biochemistry in December 2019
  • Four-time NCAA participant
  • Earned four NCAA All-American honors as a senior
  • SEC Top-5 finisher in the 200 and 400 IM as a senior
  • SEC Community Service Team, 2019
  • SEC Academic Honor Roll
  • Representative on Auburn's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee
  • Top 5 fastest in school history in 200 and 400 IM
  • Top 10 fastest in school history in 100 and 200 butterfly
  • 2012 and 2016 Olympic Trials qualifier

The SEC provides the league's male and female McWhorter Scholar-Athlete of the Year Post-Graduate Scholarship recipients with a $20,000 post-graduate scholarship. The 26 remaining male and female finalists for the award will also receive a $10,000 post-graduate scholarship.

The award recipients are chosen by a committee of Faculty Athletics Representatives from the 14 SEC institutions and are announced in May.

Last year's McWhorter Award recipients were Texas A&M track and field member Nathan Hite and Vanderbilt bowler Kristin Quah.