The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

LSU's Mays, Zwiebel nominees for McWhorter award

265 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: SEC Staff

BIRMINGHAM, Alabama (May 6, 2020) - Skylar Mays of the LSU men's basketball team and Anna Zwiebel of the Tiger volleyball team have been nominated for the H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship by Louisiana State University.

The H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship has been presented by the Southeastern Conference since 1986 to the league's top male and female scholar-athletes.

The Southeastern Conference will name the 2020 recipients of the H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship in late May.

Highlights of LSU's nominees include:

SKYLAR MAYS, LSU, Basketball
Major: Pre-Med/Kinesiology

  • CoSIDA Basketball Academic All-America of Year, 2020
  • First Team Academic All-America, 2020, 2019
  • SEC Scholar Athlete of the Year, 2020, 2019
  • All SEC First Team, 2020; All-SEC Second Team 2019
  • SEC Academic Honor Roll, 2020, 2019, 2018
  • SEC Community Service Selection 2019
  • Louisiana Sports Writers Association Player of the Year, 2020
  • Averaged 16.7 points, 5.0 rebounds 3.2 assists, 1.8 steals per game 2019-20
  • Had 88 games in double figures over his four seasons
  • Career highs of 30 points versus Utah State (11/19); at Auburn (2/8)
  • Finished his career in top 10 at LSU in nine categories
  • Only player in the SEC since 1992-93 to average in a season at least 17.5 points per game, 5.0 rebounds per game, 3.0 assists per game and 40% shooting from 3 in conference play

Major: Kinesiology-Human Movement

  • Her 4.046 GPA is one of the highest GPA's LSU volleyball program history
  • Plans to enroll in Physician Assistant school
  • Earned back-to-back CoSIDA Academic All-District Honors in 2017 and 2018
  • First LSU volleyball student-athlete to be recognized as a two-time CoSIDA Academic All-American, earning first team honors in 2018, one of only six volleyball student-athletes to be recognized nationally
  • Four-time SEC Academic Honor Roll selection
  • Heavily involved throughout the Baton Rouge community helping with the Miracle League and Night to Shine, both organizations working with special needs.
  • Volunteered at Glasgow Middle School during PE classes and at Baton Rouge General.
  • Did team community service with Athletes for Hope at a variety of locations and events as well as team community service events on campus.
  • Finished her career with 2,238 assists which ranks her eighth on the all-time list in program history
  • Had a career high of 65 assists in 2017 in five-set win over High Point
  • Had a career-high of 16 digs on three separate occasions
  • Finished her career with a total of 21 double-doubles
  • In 2017, she earned USF Invitational MVP, UCONN Dog Pound Challenge All-Tournament Team, SEC Co-Setter of the Week and LSWA All-Louisiana Second Team

The SEC provides the league's male and female McWhorter Scholar-Athlete of the Year Post-Graduate Scholarship recipients with a $20,000 post-graduate scholarship. The 26 remaining male and female finalists for the award will also receive a $10,000 post-graduate scholarship.

The award recipients are chosen by a committee of Faculty Athletics Representatives from the 14 SEC institutions and are announced in May.

Last year's McWhorter Award recipients were Texas A&M track and field member Nathan Hite and Vanderbilt bowler Kristin Quah.