The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Storm and Waldner nominated for McWhorter award

263 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: SEC Staff

BIRMINGHAM, Alabama (May 8, 2020) - John Mitchell Storm of the Mississippi State men's basketball team and MaKayla Waldner of the Bulldog soccer team have been nominated for the H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship by Mississippi State University.

The H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship has been presented by the Southeastern Conference since 1986 to the league's top male and female scholar-athletes.

The Southeastern Conference will name the 2020 recipients of the H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship in late May.

Highlights of Mississippi State's nominees include:

JOHN MITCHELL STORM, Mississippi State, Basketball
Major: Business Administration

  • SEC Academic Honor Roll, 2017-2020
  • SEC First-Year Academic Honor Roll, 2017-18
  • SEC Basketball Leadership Counsel (Vice Chair), 2019-20
  • SEC Basketball Leadership Counsel, 2017-20
  • SEC Career Tour Participant, 2019, 2020
  • SEC Community Service Team, 2017, 2018
  • Storm appeared in 16 career games over his three seasons with the program which was highlighted by a trio of 20-plus win campaigns, a 2019 NCAA Tournament trip and 2018 NIT Final Four run.
  • The last time MSU recorded three straight 20-plus win seasons was in 2007-08, 2008-09 and 2009-10.

MAKAYLA WALDNER, Mississippi State, Soccer
Major: Mechanical Engineering

  • 2019 SEC Co-Scholar-Athlete of the Year in Soccer
  • Member of SEC Soccer Community Service Team
  • Three-time President's List selection
  • Three-time SEC honor roll recipient
  • Earned MSU's Newsom Award for soccer, given to the player with the highest GPA on the team as a junior
  • Soccer representative on MSU's Student-Athlete Advisory Council
  • Volunteered in Starkville with the Salvation Army's Red Kettle Campaign and the Boys and Girls Club
  • Finished third in school history with 59 career points and second with 28 career goals
  • Holds school record for game-winning goals (11) and set the single-season record (5) in 2017
  • 2019 First Team All-SEC, fourth first-team selection in MSU history and the first since Catalina Perez in 2017
  • 2017 Third Team All-Region and Second Team All-SEC

The SEC provides the league's male and female McWhorter Scholar-Athlete of the Year Post-Graduate Scholarship recipients with a $20,000 post-graduate scholarship. The 26 remaining male and female finalists for the award will also receive a $10,000 post-graduate scholarship.

The award recipients are chosen by a committee of Faculty Athletics Representatives from the 14 SEC institutions and are announced in May.

Last year's McWhorter Award recipients were Texas A&M track and field member Nathan Hite and Vanderbilt bowler Kristin Quah.