The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

SEC Women's Tennis Coaches - Still Winning

81 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: SEC Staff

The Southeastern Conference has a strong presence in women's tennis. The league has won 10 NCAA Championships titles, 12 NCAA runner-up titles, eight NCAA singles titles and nine NCAA double titles.

An important part of this success are the many coaches that have strolled the courts and some of the most successful still coach in the SEC. In fact, half of the top 10 all-time winningest coaches at SEC institutions are still leading their teams to victory.

Georgia's Jeff Wallace is the nation's winningest active women's tennis coach with a record of 750-184.He is one of only three coaches in women's tennis history with at least 600 wins and has led the Bulldogs to 15 SEC Titles (9 Regular Season, 6 Tournament) and six national titles (two NCAA titles, four USTA/ITA titles).

Geoff Macdonald has been at the helm of two SEC teams. He spent three seasons a tLSU and has 26 seasons under his belt at Vanderbilt. He is a five-time SEC Coach of the Year and the 2015 Wilson/ITA Coach of the Year after the Commodores won their first SEC and NCAA National titles.

Florida's Roland Thornqvist just completed his 19th season in Gainesville. He has guided the Gators to four NCAA titles and is one of only two coaches to have teams finish in the top 10 of the final ITA Rankings at least eight times in the past 10 years.

Jenny Mainz will be entering her 24th season in 2020-21, which makes her the longest tenured coach at the University of Alabama. She is the only coach in Alabama tennis history to take the Tide to six consecutive NCAA championships and 13 overall and has had 26 singles players and 18 doubles teams ranked in the final Intercollegiate Tennis Association polls.

Mark Beyers has coached a national champion and Honda Sports Award winner in Arianne Hartono and numerous All-Americans and All-SEC players and in 2019 he became the program's all-time winningest coach. For his efforts on the court he has been named ITA South Region Coach of the Year in 2010, 2012, and 2018.

SEC All-Time Winningest Women's Tennis Coaches
1. Jeff Wallace, UG 722-182
2. Geoff Macdonald, VU 567-213 (VU 517-189/LS 50-24)
3. Mike Patrick, UT 473-310
4. Andy Brandi, UF 460-43
5. Roland Thornqvist, UF 438-75
6. Arlo Elkins, SC 438-291 (8 seasons in Metro Conference)
7. Sonia Hahn-Patrick, UT 314-203
8. Tony Minnis, LS 285-234
9. Jenny Mainz, UA 281-271
10. Mark Beyers, UM 246-209