The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

UF, UGA, Bama have earned women's golf national titles

180 days ago
SEC Network
Photo: Florida Athletics

The NCAA women's golf championships were scheduled to take place May 22-27 at Arizona State's Grayhawk Golf Club. Obviously, because of the coronavirus pandemic, no such event is occurring in the desert sun of Scottsdale, Arizona.

What might have been?

That we will never know, but Southeastern Conference power Florida sure would like to have found out. The Lady Gators were ranked No. 7 in the nation in the Golfweek/Sagarin poll when the pandemic brought the season to a premature close, and twice before in their storied history they were able to record national championships in the sport. That puts Florida in elite SEC company when it comes to women's golf.

While the Lady Gators won back-to-back national titles in 1985 and 1986, only two other SEC schools have put together women's golf teams that have been able to win it all -- Georgia in 2001 and Alabama in 2012.

There were several other conference teams that might have had a shot at that kind of glory this year, as six other SEC squads were ranked in the nation's Top 20 in the last Golfweek/Sagarin poll to come out before the pandemic struck. The list included No. 10 South Carolina, No. 12 LSU, No. 13 Mississippi, No. 14 Auburn, No. 17 Arkansas and No. 18 Alabama.

Unfortunately, the 2020 SEC women's golf championship that was scheduled for April 15-19 at Greystone Golf and Country Club in Birmingham, Alabama also was canceled because of the pandemic.

For a look back at the previous national championship journeys of Florida, Georgia and Alabama, click on the team logos of each below.