The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Thompson named finalist for Nicklaus Award

124 days ago
Georgia Athletics
Photo: Georgia Athletics

ATHENS, Ga. --- Georgia's Davis Thompson has been chosen as one of the five Division I finalists for the 2020 Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award presented by, according to an announcement Thursday by the Golf Coaches Association of America.

The winner of the Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award will be announced during the Memorial Tournament presented by Nationwide July 13-19.

Thompson, John Augenstein of Vanderbilt, Baylor's Cooper Dossey, Garett Reband of Oklahoma, and Sahith Theegala of Pepperdine are the finalists for the award.

"I have a special place in my heart for this award, and it's always been a highlight for us at the Memorial Tournament when we have the opportunity to recognize these young men," Nicklaus said. "Like so many student-athletes around the world, these golfers have been stripped of competition, championships and other moments to create lasting memories. I am delighted to see that the GCAA and have worked to keep this well-deserved honor moving forward."

Thompson, a junior from Auburn, Ala., has been tabbed as a First-Team All-American, a PING All-Southeast Region Team member, and as a First-Team All-SEC selection. A Haskins Award finalist, Thompson ended the year with a scoring average of 69.95 (second in Georgia annals), including nine rounds in the 60s. He won the Jim Rivers Invitational last fall and had four additional top-10 finishes this season. Thompson played on sponsor exemptions in the 2019 RSM Classic and the 2020 Puerto Rico Open on the PGA Tour. By virtue of winning the Jones Cup Invitational, he earned another berth in the 2020 RSM Classic. Thompson has been chosen to compete for the United States in the Arnold Palmer Cup Dec. 21-23 at Bay Hill Club in Orlando, Fla.