The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

SEC Announces Men's Basketball Schedule

1119 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Phil Ellsworth | ESPN Images

Birmingham, Ala. - The Southeastern Conference unveiled its 126-game men's basketball schedule for the 2020-21 season on Friday.

Conference play tips off December 29 and runs through March 3. No games were scheduled the weekend of March 6 to allow a window for makeup games. Each SEC team plays the other 13 teams at least one time during league play. They will then play their three permanent opponents a second time with the remaining two games changing every year.

The eighth annual SEC/Big 12 Challenge will take place on Jan. 30. The four teams not participating in the SEC/Big 12 Challenge will play conference games that day.

Four SEC teams are included in's Way-Too-Early Top 25: Kentucky (5), Tennessee (11), LSU (22) and Florida (25). Five teams are listed in ESPN commentator Dick Vitale's preseason top 40: Tennessee (10), Kentucky (13), Alabama (17), LSU (19) and Florida (32).

Nearly a quarter (24 of 100) of's 2020 Top 100 recruits signed to play at SEC schools in 2020-21, including 12 that ranked in the Top 50.

The SEC Tournament returns to the Music City when Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, Tenn., hosts the event from March 10-14, 2021.

Television information and start times will be announced at a later date.

Full 2020-21 SEC Men's Basketball Conference Schedule