The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

SEC football on Super Bowl LV rosters

77 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: AP Photo/Jason Behnken

A total of 25 former players from current Southeastern Conference institutions are on the active rosters of the Kansas City Chiefs and Tampa Bay Buccaneers, the two National Football League teams who will square off for Super Bowl LV on February 7. That number increases to 34 former players when including injured reserve and practice squad players.

This year's Super Bowl will be played at Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, marking the first time in NFL history for a team to play in a Super Bowl hosted at their home stadium.

LSU leads the SEC with seven former players represented in the Super Bowl, while Auburn and South Carolina are next with four each. Mississippi State has three.

Thirteen SEC schools will have at least one player represented in the Super Bowl.

A representative from a SEC institution has been named MVP of the Super Bowl on five occasions since 2006.

Kansas City Chiefs (14)
Gehrig Dieter (Alabama), Yasir Durant (Missouri), Clyde Edwards-Helaire (LSU), Rashad Fenton (South Carolina), Willie Gay Jr. (Mississippi State), Mecole Hardman (Georgia), Chris Jones (Mississippi State), Chris Lammons (South Carolina), Tyrann Mathieu (LSU), Martinas Rankin (Mississippi State), Demarcus Robinson (Florida), Tommy Townsend (Florida), Armani Watts (Texas A&M), Darrel Williams (LSU).

Reserve/Injured/Practice Squad: Deandre Baker (Georgia), Dustin Colquitt (Tennessee), Ricky Seals-Jones (Texas A&M), Emmanuel Smith (Vanderbilt).

Tampa Bay Buccaneers (11)
Carlton Davis (Auburn), Jamel Dean (Auburn), Mike Edwards (Kentucky), Mike Evans (Texas A&M), Leonard Fournette (LSU), Blaine Gabbert (Missouri), Jeremiah Ledbetter (Arkansas), Kevin Minter (LSU), Ryan Succop (South Carolina), Ke'Shawn Vaughn (Vanderbilt), Devin White (LSU).

Reserve/Injured/Practice Squad: John Franklin III (Auburn), Cyril Grayson (LSU), O.J. Howard (Alabama), Kobe Smith (South Carolina), Prince Tega Wanogho (Auburn).