The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Ten from SEC named to Bowerman Watch List

21 days ago
Photo: Texas A&M Athletics

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (April 15, 2021)-----Ten Southeastern Conference track and field student-athletes have been named to the Bowerman Watch List, it was announced by the United States Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA).

Five SEC female student-athletes were named to the watch list: Alabama's Tamara Clark, Texas A&M's Tyra Gittens, LSU Tonea Marshall, Texas A&M's Athing Mu and Kentucky's Abby Steiner. Five SEC male athletes were named to the watch list: LSU's JuVaughn Harrison, Alabama's Eliud Kipsang, LSU's Tarrance Laird, Georgia's Karel Tilga, and LSU's Noah Williams. Ten male athletes and 10 female athletes nationwide were named to the Bowerman Watch List.

The Bowerman is the highest honor bestowed to collegiate track and field's most outstanding athletes of the year. An SEC male athlete has won the Bowerman in five of the last six years in which the award was presented: Texas A&M's Deon Lendore in 2014, Florida's Marquis Dendy in 2015, Arkansas' Jarrion Lawson in 2016, Tennessee's Christian Coleman in 2017 and Florida's Grant Holloway in 2019.

Seven other SEC student-athletes were among those receiving votes.

Women's Watch List - April 14

Tamara Clark, Alabama (Sprints)
Tara Davis, Texas (Jumps/Hurdles)
Tyra Gittens, Texas A&M (Combined Events)
Tonea Marshall, LSU (Hurdles)
Aaliyah Miller, Baylor (Mid-Distance)
Athing Mu, Texas A&M (Sprints/Mid-Distance)
Kemba Nelson, Oregon (Sprints)
Abby Steiner, Kentucky (Sprints)
Twanisha Terry, Southern California (Sprints)
Ruth Usoro, Texas Tech (Jumps)

Also receiving votes
Mercy Chelangat, Alabama (Distance)
Anna Cockrell, Southern California (Sprints/Hurdles)
Anna Hall, Georgia (Combined Events)
Marie-Therese Obst, Georgia (Javelin)
Camryn Rogers, California (Throws)
Courtney Wayment, BYU (Mid-Distance/Distance)

Men's Watch List - April 15

JuVaughn Harrison, LSU (Jumps)
Cole Hocker, Oregon (Distance)
Charlie Hunter, Oregon (Mid-Distance)
Eliud Kipsang, Alabama (Mid-Distance)
Terrance Laird, LSU (Sprints)
KC Lightfoot, Baylor (Pole Vault)
Cooper Teare, Oregon (Distance)
Karel Tilga, Georgia (Combined Events)
Turner Washington, Arizona State (Throws)
Noah Williams, LSU (Sprints)

Also receiving votes
Johnnie Blockburger, Arizona (Sprints)
Matthew Boling, Georgia (Sprints/Jumps)
Trey Cunningham, Florida State (Hurdles)
Bryce Deadmon, Texas A&M (Sprints)
Gleb Dudarev, Kansas (Throws)
Emmanuel Ihemeje, Oregon (Jumps)
Thomas Mardal, Florida (Throws)
Damion Thomas, LSU (Hurdles)