The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Three from SEC on Ann Meyers-Drysdale Award Watchlist

33 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Thomas Northcut

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. (Oct. 26, 2021) - The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women's Basketball Coaches Association announced today the 20 watch list candidates for the 2022 Ann Meyers-Drysdale Award, including three from the Southeastern Conference. Named after the first player, male or female, named to an All-America Team in four straight college seasons, the annual award in its fifth year recognizes the top shooting guard in women's NCAA Division I college basketball. A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

College basketball fans are encouraged to participate in Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies in each of the three rounds. In late January, the watch list of 20 players for the 2022 Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard of the Year Award will be narrowed to 10 and then in late February to just five. In March the five finalists will be presented to Ms. Meyers Drysdale and the Hall of Fame's selection committee where a winner will be selected.

The winner of the 2022 Ann Meyers-Drysdale Award will be presented on a to be determined date, along with the other four members of the Women's Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Nancy Lieberman Point Guard Award, the Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award, the Katrina McClain Power Forward Award and the Lisa Leslie Center Award, in addition to the Men's Starting Five.

Starting Five Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies will go live on Friday, October 29.

2022 Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard of the Year Award Candidates*

Taylor Chavez - Arizona

Kiara Lewis - Clemson

Christyn Williams - UConn

Azzi Fudd - UConn

Sonya Morris  - DePaul

Celeste Taylor - Duke

Kiersten Bell - FGCU

Kianna Smith - Louisville

Diamond Miller - Maryland

Katie Benzan - Maryland

Jakia Brown-Turner - NC State

Taylor Robertson - Oklahoma

Sydney Parrish - Oregon

Zia Cooke - South Carolina

Elena Tsineke - South Florida

Lexie Hull - Stanford

Jordan Horston - Tennessee

Destiny Pitts - Texas A&M

Charisma Osbourne - UCLA

Charlisse Leger-Walker - Washington St.

*Players can play their way onto and off the list at any point in the 2021-22 season