The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Eight former SEC players on World Series rosters

203 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Southeastern Conference

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (Oct. 26, 2021)-----Eight baseball players from Southeastern Conference universities are included on World Series rosters of the Atlanta Braves and Houston Astros, it was announced Tuesday.

Four players from SEC schools are listed on each of the 26-man rosters. Former SEC players on the Braves' roster are A.J. Minter (Texas A&M), Drew Smyly (Arkansas), Dansby Swanson (Vanderbilt) and Kyle Wright (Vanderbilt). The Astros' roster includes four players with SEC ties: Alex Bregman (LSU), Kendall Graveman (Mississippi State), Brooks Raley (Texas A&M) and Ryne Stanek (Arkansas).

The eight players won a combined two SEC regular season championships and three SEC Tournament crowns during their college careers to go along with six College World Series appearances and one NCAA title. Arkansas, Vanderbilt and Texas A&M each have two representatives in the 2021 World Series.

A total of 26 players from SEC schools were named to active rosters for the American League Division Series and National League Division Series earlier this month.

The 2021 World Series is scheduled to begin with Game 1 Tuesday at 7 p.m. CT.

Atlanta Braves

A.J. Minter - Texas A&M

Drew Smyly - Arkansas

Dansby Swanson - Vanderbilt

Kyle Wright - Vanderbilt

Houston Astros

Alex Bregman - LSU

Kendall Graveman - Mississippi State

Brooks Raley - Texas A&M

Ryne Stanek - Arkansas