The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Six SEC Athletes on Women's Bowerman Watch List

111 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Southeastern Conference

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (April 20, 2022)-----Six Southeastern Conference female track and field student-athletes were named to the updated watch list for The Bowerman, according to an announcement Wednesday by the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA).

Named to the watch list from the SEC were Florida's Anna Hall, Jasmine Moore and Grace Stark, LSU's Favour Ofili, Kentucky's Abby Steiner and Texas A&M's Charokee Young.

In addition, all three of the student-athletes listed as also receiving votes are from the SEC: LSU's Alia Armstrong and Lisa Gunnarsson and Texas A&M's Lamara Distin.

A total of 10 athletes were named to the watch list on Wednesday. The men's watch list will be announced Thursday.

The Bowerman is the highest honor bestowed to collegiate track and field's most outstanding athletes of the year. An SEC female athlete has won the Bowerman each of the last three times the award was presented: Georgia's Keturah Orji in 2018, LSU's Sha'Carri Richardson in 2019 and Texas A&M's Athing Mu in 2021.

The Bowerman will be presented in December at the annual USTFCCCA Convention to be held in Denver.