The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

19 SEC teams make NCAA Tennis Championships

24 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Sean Taylor

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (May 2, 2022) --The NCAA Division I Men's & Women's Tennis Subcommittees have selected the 128 teams (64 men, 64 women) that will compete in the 2022 NCAA Division I Men's & Women's Tennis Championships. Per NCAA policy, the top 16 seeds are guaranteed to host if a bid was submitted and criteria are met, and matchups between conference opponents were avoided in the first two rounds of the championship.

The Southeastern Conference had a total of 19 teams receive bids. The 10 men's teams in the field are Auburn, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, LSU, Ole Miss, Mississippi State, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Texas A&M. The nine women's teams are Alabama, Arkansas, Auburn, Florida, Georgia, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas A&M and Vanderbilt.

All matches are regulation dual matches with three doubles matches consisting of six-game sets played for one team point, followed by six singles matches, each valued at one team point; played the best of three sets. No-ad scoring is used and a seven-point tiebreaker (first to seven points, must win by two points) is played at six-games-all. The team winning four or more team points advances in the championship bracket.

During the championships, doubles matches are stopped after the doubles point is decided and individual matches are stopped once a team winner (four points won) has been determined. The score will only reflect completed matches.

First- and second-round competition takes place May 6-7 for the men and May 6-7 or 7-8 for the women. They feature four teams playing in a single-elimination format with the winner of each site advancing to super-regional competition May 13 or 14. Each super-regional site will feature two teams playing a single-elimination format. The super-regional winners advance to the Khan Outdoor Tennis Complex in Champaign, Illinois, where the eight teams will compete for the national championship May 19-22. The event will be hosted by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Each first-and second-round site will announce its own schedule.


Ole Miss vs Utah (Fort Worth)

Auburn vs Texas Tech (Winston-Salem)

DePaul at Kentucky

LSU vs SMU (Austin)

Texas A&M vs Tulsa (Waco)

Mississippi State vs Stanford (Cambridge)

Alabama State at Georgia

Tennessee Tech at Tennessee

South Carolina State at South Carolina

New Orleans at Florida


South Carolina vs Iowa State (Chapel Hill)

South Alabama at Florida

Alabama vs UCF (Miami)

Arkansas vs UCLA (Stillwater)

Jackson State at Auburn

Charleston Southern at Georgia

Tennessee vs VCU (Raleigh)

A&M-Corpus Christi at Texas A&M

Vanderbilt vs Xavier (Columbus, OH)