The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Five SEC athletes named finalists for women's Bowerman

162 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Southeastern Conference

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (June 20, 2022) -- Five Southeastern Conference female track and field student-athletes were named semifinalists for The Bowerman, according to an announcement Monday by the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA).

Named semifinalists from the SEC were Florida's Anna Hall and Jasmine Moore, LSU's Favour Ofili, Kentucky's Abby Steiner and Arkansas' Britton Wilson.

A total of 10 athletes were named semifinalists on Monday. The men's watch list will be announced Tuesday.

The Bowerman is the highest honor bestowed to collegiate track and field's most outstanding athletes of the year. An SEC female athlete has won the Bowerman each of the last three times the award was presented: Georgia's Keturah Orji in 2018, LSU's Sha'Carri Richardson in 2019 and Texas A&M's Athing Mu in 2021.

The Bowerman will be presented in December at the annual USTFCCCA Convention to be held in Denver.