The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

UF's Hall, UK's Steiner named Bowerman finalists

521 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Southeastern Conference

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (June 27, 2022) ---The University of Florida's Anna Hall and the University of Kentucky's Abby Steiner have been named finalists for The Bowerman, according to an announcement Monday by the United States Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA).

Hall and Steiner are among three female finalists chosen by The Bowerman Advisory Board. Camryn Rogers of California is the other finalist. The male finalists will be announced Tuesday.

The Bowerman is the highest honor bestowed to collegiate track and field's most outstanding athletes of the year. An SEC female athlete has won the Bowerman each of the last three times the award was presented: Georgia's Keturah Orji in 2018, LSU's Sha'Carri Richardson in 2019 and Texas A&M's Athing Mu in 2021.

Hall and Steiner are the 15th and 16th women from the SEC to be named Bowerman finalists. Hall is the second Florida woman to be named a finalist, following Yanis David in 2019. Steiner is the third athlete from Kentucky to be named a finalist, joining Kendra Harrison (2015) and Sydney McLaughlin (2018).

Online fan voting for The Bowerman begins Tuesday at 3 p.m. CT at The Bowerman will be presented in December at the annual USTFCCCA Convention to be held in Denver.