The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

SEC totals 17 selections on first day of MLB Draft

141 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: SEC

BIRMINGHAM, Ala.-----A total of 17 Southeastern Conference baseball players were selected on the first day of the Major League Baseball Draft on Sunday. Five players were selected in Round 1 (including compensation picks) and Competitive Balance Round A.

Kumar Rocker (Vanderbilt) was the first former SEC player taken with the third overall pick by the Texas Rangers. LSU's Jacob Berry was selected three picks later by the Miami Marlins, while Vanderbilt's Spencer Jones was taken by the New York Yankees at No. 25 overall and Tennessee's Drew Gilbert was selected 28th overall by the Houston Astros.

Florida's Sterlin Thompson was selected No. 31 by the Colorado Rockies, Mississippi State's Landon Sims was selected 34th by the Arizona Diamondbacks, and Tennessee's Jordan Beck was selected 38th by the Colorado Rockies.

Ten from the SEC were taken in Round 2 and Competitive Balance Round B.

Eight SEC universities had at least one player selected on the first day of the draft Sunday. Arkansas, Florida and Tennessee led the way with three each.

The MLB Draft continues Monday with Rounds 3-10 slated to begin at 2 p.m. CT.

SEC In The 2022 MLB Draft

Day 1

Round 1
3. Kumar Rocker (Vanderbilt) - Texas Rangers
6. Jacob Berry (LSU) - Miami Marlins
25. Spencer Jones (Vanderbilt) - New York Yankees
28. Drew Gilbert (Tennessee) - Houston Astros

Round 1C
31. Sterlin Thompson (Florida) - Colorado Rockies

Round CB-A
34. Landon Sims (Mississippi State) - Arizona Diamondbacks
38. Jordan Beck (Tennessee) - Colorado Rockies

Round 2
44. Hunter Barco (Florida) - Pittsburgh Pirates
48. Connor Prielipp (Alabama) - Minnesota Twins
49. Cayden Wallace (Arkansas) - Kansas City Royals
52. Blade Tidwell (Tennessee) - New York Mets
55. Logan Tanner (Mississippi State) - Cincinnati Reds
62. Peyton Pallette (Arkansas) - Chicago White Sox

Round CB-B
67. Jud Fabian (Florida) - Baltimore Orioles
72. Robert Moore (Arkansas) - Milwaukee Brewers
76. Blake Burkhalter (Auburn) - Atlanta Braves
78. Cade Doughty (LSU) - Toronto Blue Jays