The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

SEC lands nine national scholar-athlete semifinalists

66 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: NFF

IRVING, Texas (Sept. 28, 2022) - Nine football players from Southeastern Conference schools were named Wednesday as semifinalists for the 2022 William V. Campbell Trophy, college football's premier scholar-athlete award as named by the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame.

The NFF on Wednesday named 156 semifinalists nationwide for the 2022 Campbell Trophy. The list of candidates boasts an impressive 3.62 average GPA, with more than half of the semifinalists having already earned their bachelor's degrees.

Celebrating its 33rd year, the Campbell Trophy recognizes an individual as the best football scholar-athlete in the nation for his combined academic success, football performance and exemplary leadership.

Nominated by their schools, which are limited to one nominee each, candidates for the awards must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of playing eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The class is selected each year by the NFF Awards Committee, which is comprised of a nationally recognized group of media, College Football Hall of Famers and athletics administrators.

The NFF will announce 12-14 finalists on Oct. 26, and each of them will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship as a member of the 2022 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class Presented by Fidelity Investments. The finalists will travel to Bellagio Resort & Casino in Las Vegas for the 64th NFF Annual Awards Dinner Presented by Las Vegas on Dec. 6, where their accomplishments will be highlighted in front of one of the most powerful audiences in all of sports.

2022 William V. Campbell Trophy Semifinalists


 Darrian Dalcourt, Alabama 

 Trey Knox, Arkansas

 Anders Carlson, Auburn

 Jack Podlesny, Georgia

 Colin Goodfellow, Kentucky

 Austin Williams, Mississippi State

 Barrett Banister, Missouri

 Jovaughn Gwyn, South Carolina

 Paxton Brooks, Tennessee