The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Three from SEC to be recognized at Allstate Sugar Bowl

345 days ago
Photo: ESPN Images

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (Dec. 29, 2022)-----Two Southeastern Conference football student-athletes will be recognized at the Allstate Sugar Bowl as members of the 2022 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team. Auburn's Anders Carlson and Georgia's Kearis Jackson will be recognized during the game, and Kentucky's Mark Stoops will be recognized as the honorary head coach.

Carlson and Jackson were named to the 11-man FBS team and Stoops was named the honorary head coach earlier this year.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl between Alabama and Kansas State is slated to begin at 11 a.m. CT. Jackson will play in the College Football Playoff at the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl Saturday night, while Stoops will lead his team in the Music City Bowl on Saturday afternoon.

To be considered for a spot on the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team, each player must be actively involved with a charitable organization or service group while maintaining a strong academic standing.

The Allstate AFCA Good Works Team is selected by a voting panel of former Allstate AFCA Good Works Team members and journalists. After the final team members are announced, fans can cast their vote for the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team captain through the official page on

The Allstate AFCA Good Works Team was established in 1992 by the College Football Association, recognizing the extra efforts made by college football players and student support staff off the field. AFCA became the governing body of the award in 1997 and continues to honor college football players who go the extra mile for those in need.

Allstate worked to present the award starting with the 2008 season. Allstate is pledging $1 million to honor the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team, as well as their non-profits of choice, for their remarkable commitment to community service.

The SEC leads all conferences with 82 selections to the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team since it began in 1992.

2022 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team

Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS)

 Anders Carlson, Auburn

 Kearis Jackson, Georgia

 Caleb Williams, Southern California

Football Championship Subdivision, Divisions II, III, and NAIA

Austin Brenner, Ashland University

Jailen Branch, Bentley University

Matthew Feldick, Bethel University (Minn.)

Max Jones, Harvard University

Alan Gorny, Johns Hopkins University

Sione Tuifua, Morningside University

James Kaczor, North Dakota State University

Garrison Dodge, Peru State College

Michael Wozniak, Saint John's University (Minn.)

Caleb High, Southeastern Oklahoma State University

Matt Lilja, University of Mount Union

Honorary Head Coach

 Mark Stoops, Kentucky