The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Southern Hoops: A History of SEC Basketball, Part Two

52 days ago
Photo: ESPN PR

Part Two of "Southern Hoops: A History of SEC Basketball Presented by Pfizer" will debut on Monday, Feb. 6 at 9 p.m. ET on SEC Network. The seven-part SEC Storied documentary directed by Fritz Mitchell chronicles the origin and progression of men's and women's basketball in the conference as the sport approaches the 75th anniversary of the first NCAA Championship won by an SEC institution. A new episode will debut every Monday night at 9 p.m. ET through March 13.

PART TWO: Pioneers, 1960-1970 (Debuts Monday, Feb. 6)


As the South was transformed by the civil rights movement in the 1960s, so too was the SEC. Texas Western's historic win with an all-Black starting five over Coach Rupp's all-white Kentucky Wildcats in the 1966 NCAA final marked a turning point for basketball in the SEC. Vanderbilt's Perry Wallace then became the conference's first Black player, leading the way for pioneers who would travel a hard road to history. Down in Baton Rouge at LSU, Pete Maravich fashioned one of the most extraordinary college basketball careers of all time. In 1970, another transformative SEC basketball figure in Dawn Staley was born in Philadelphia.

Interview subjects featured in Part Two:

  • Jimmy Fibbe (Auburn 1958-61)
  • Ray Groover (Auburn 1958-61)
  • Rex Frederich (Auburn 1956-59)
  • Alex Wolff (Sports Illustrated 1980-2016)
  • Bailey Howell (Mississippi State 1956-59)
  • Doug Hutton (Mississippi State 1961-64)
  • Aubrey Nichols (Mississippi State 1961-64)
  • Joe Dan Gold (Mississippi State 1960-63)
  • Jerry Harkness (Loyola)
  • Rick Cleveland (Jackson Clarion Ledger)
  • James Duane Bolin (Murray State History Professor)
  • Dr. Gerald Smith (Kentucky History Professor)
  • Dick Gabriel (WKYT 1985-2006)
  • Cotton Nash (Kentucky, 1961-64)
  • Mike Pratt (Kentucky 1967-70)
  • Larry Conley (Kentucky 1963-66)
  • John Clay (Lexington Herald - Leader)
  • Dan Issel (Kentucky 1968-70)
  • Andrew Maraniss (Author)
  • Henry Hecht (Vanderbilt Hustler Reporter 1965-69)
  • Godfrey Dillard (Vanderbilt 1966-68)
  • Sam Heys (Atlanta Journal Constitution)
  • Tom Brennan (Georgia 196-71)
  • Ron Higgins (Memphis Commercial Appeal)
  • Ralph Jukkola (LSU 1966-69)
  • Jim Engster (Louisiana Radio Network)
  • Dawn Staley (South Carolina head coach)