The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Southern Hoops: A History of SEC Basketball, Part Seven

194 days ago
Photo: SEC Network

Part Seven of "Southern Hoops: A History of SEC Basketball" will debut on Monday, March 13, at 9 p.m. ET on SEC Network. The seven-part SEC Storied documentary, directed by Fritz Mitchell, chronicles the origin and progression of men's and women's basketball in the conference as the sport approaches the 75th anniversary of the first NCAA Championship won by an SEC institution.

PART SEVEN: From Old South to New South, 2012-2022 (Debuts March 13)

The past decade has seen the expanded SEC continue to thrive at the center of the story of college basketball in America. John Calipari has continued the tradition of excellence at Kentucky, leading the Wildcats to four Men's Final Four appearances including a national championship in 2012. That same year, Missouri and Texas A&M joined the conference, a season after head coach Gary Blair led the Aggies to the Women's Final Four and a national title. In 2016, the basketball world said goodbye to one of its greatest legends with the loss of Pat Summitt after a five-year battle with early-onset Alzheimer's disease. In 2017, Vic Schaefer led Mississippi State to the first of two consecutive national title games after knocking off top-ranked and undefeated UConn in the semifinals, before falling to Dawn Staley's South Carolina Gamecocks led by A'ja Wilson. It was the first NCAA championship for Coach Staley, with the second title, featuring Naismith College Player of the Year Aliyah Boston, coming five years later in 2022.

Interview Subjects Featured in Part Seven:

  • John Calipari (Current Kentucky Men's Basketball Head Coach)
  • Orlando Antigua (Kentucky Men's Basketball Head Coach)
  • Jarrod Polson (Kentucky 2010-14)
  • John Clay (Lexington Herald-Leader)
  • Dick Gabriel (WKYT TV 1985-2006)
  • Vic Schaefer (Mississippi State Women's Basketball Head Coach 2012-2020)
  • Bruce Pearl (Tennessee Men's Basketball Head Coach 2005-11)
  • Holly Warlick (Tennessee Women's Basketball Assistant Coach 1985-2012)
  • Shelly Sexton (Tennessee 1983-87)
  • Dan Fleser (Knoxville News Sentinel)
  • Mickie DeMoss (Tennessee Women's Basketball Assistant Coach 1985-2000)
  • Carolyn Peck (ESPN Basketball Analyst and Tennessee Women's Basketball Assistant Head Coach 1993-95)
  • Kellie Jolly Harper (Current Tennessee Women's Basketball Head Coach, Tennessee Player 1995-99)
  • Debby Jennings (Tennessee Media Relations 1977-2012)
  • Jane Clark (Friend of Pat Summitt)
  • Van Chancellor (LSU Women's Basketball Head Coach)
  • Morgan William (Mississippi State 2014-2018)
  • Dawn Staley (Current South Carolina Women's Basketball Head Coach)
  • Andy Landers (Georgia Women's Basketball Head Coach 1979-2015)
  • Sonny Smith (Auburn Men's Basketball Coach (1978-89)
  • Chuma Okeke (Auburn 2017-19)
  • Charles Barkley (Auburn 1981-84)
  • Rudy Macklin (LSU 1976-81)
  • Dale Brown (LSU Men's Basketball Head Coach 1972-97)
  • Tim Brando (ESPN 1986-94)
  • Ron Higgins (Memphis Commercial Appeal)
  • Jim Engster (Louisiana Radio Network)
  • Oscar Tshiebwe (Kentucky 2021-23)
  • Mike Pratt (Kentucky 1967-70)
  • Aliyah Boston (South Carolina 2019-2023)
  • Brea Beal (South Carolina 2019-2023)