The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Arkansas sweeps NCAA indoor track and field titles

271 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: SEC

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. (March 12, 2023)-----The University of Arkansas men's and women's track and field teams won the 2023 NCAA Indoor Track and Field Championships Saturday at the Albuquerque Convention Center. It marks the first sweep of the men's and women's national titles since 2016.

SEC teams placed Nos. 1-3 in the final men's standings. Arkansas was first with 63 points, followed by Georgia with 40 and Florida with 34. Alabama also placed in the top-10 with a ninth place finish. Florida was third in the women's standings with 45 points, and Georgia was fifth with 31. Alabama and Tennessee tied for seventh, while Ole Miss was 10th.

An SEC team has won the NCAA women's indoor title in five consecutive championships. Arkansas men claimed the first men's NCAA indoor title since

A total of 19 SEC student-athletes won NCAA individual titles in 15 different events. Florida's Jasmine Moore won a pair of titles with two collegiate records in the long jump and triple jump. Arkansas' Britton Wilson claimed titles in the women's 4x400 and in the 400m with a collegiate record.

A complete list of the SEC's individual NCAA indoor track and field champions follows:

NCAA Individual Champions (SEC)

SEC Women's NCAA Champions
400m - (49.48) collegiate record  Britton Wilson, Arkansas
60m hurdles  Ackera Nugen, Arkansas
4x400 Relay  Amber Anning, Joanne Reid, Rosey Effiong, Britton Wilson, Arkansas
High Jump  Lamara Distin, Texas A&M
Pole Vault  Amanda Fassold, Arkansas
Long Jump - (15.12m/49-7.25) collegiate record   Jasmine Moore, Florida
Triple Jump - (15.12m/49-7.25) collegiate record   Jasmine Moore, Florida
Weight Throw  Jalani Davis, Ole Miss
SEC Men's NCAA Champions
200m  Matthew Boling, Georgia 
400m  Elija Godwin, Georgia
5000m  Dylan Jacobs, Tennessee
4x400 Relay  Connor Washington, James Benson II, Ayden Owens-Delerme, Chris Bailey, Arkansas
Long Jump  Carey McLeod, Arkansas
Triple Jump  Jaydon Hibbert, Arkansas
Heptathlon  Kyle Garland, Georgia