The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Six from SEC named to Bowerman watch list

261 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Southeastern Conference

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (March 23, 2023)-----Six Southeastern Conference female track and field student-athletes were named to the updated watch list for The Bowerman, according to an announcement Wednesday by the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA).

Named to the watch list from the SEC were Florida's Talitha Diggs and Jasmine Moore, Texas A&M's Lamara Distin, Kentucky's Masai Russell and Arkansas' Ackera Nugent and Britton Wilson.

LSU's Favour Ofili was listed among one other athlete also receiving votes.

A total of 10 athletes were named to the watch list on Wednesday. The men's watch list will be announced Thursday.

The Bowerman is the highest honor bestowed to collegiate track and field's most outstanding athletes of the year. An SEC female athlete has won the Bowerman each of the last four times the award has been presented: Georgia's Keturah Orji in 2018, LSU's Sha'Carri Richardson in 2019, Texas A&M's Athing Mu in 2021 and Kentucky's Abby Steiner in 2022.

The Bowerman will be presented in December at the annual USTFCCCA Convention to be held in Aurora, Colo.