The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Seven from SEC named to Bowerman watch list

334 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Southeastern Conference

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (March 23, 2023)-----Seven Southeastern Conference male track and field athletes were named to the updated watch list for The Bowerman, it was announced Thursday by the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association.

Named to the watch list from the SEC were LSU's Sean Burrell, Georgia's Kyle Garland and Elija Godwin, Tennessee's Dylan Jacobs and Arkansas' Ayden Owens-Delerme, Jaydon Hibbert and Carey McLeod.

Georgia's Matthew Boling, Mississippi State's Cameron Crump and South Carolina's Anass Essayi were listed among other athletes as also receiving votes.

Six SEC athletes were named to the updated women's Bowerman watch list on Wednesday.

The Bowerman is the highest honor bestowed to collegiate track and field's most outstanding athletes of the year. An SEC female athlete has won the Bowerman each of the last four times the award was presented: Georgia's Keturah Orji in 2018, LSU's Sha'Carri Richardson in 2019, Texas A&M's Athing Mu in 2021 and Kentucky's Abby Steiner in 2022.

An SEC male athlete has won the Bowerman in six of the last eight years in which the award was presented: Texas A&M's Deon Lendore in 2014, Florida's Marquis Dendy in 2015, Arkansas' Jarrion Lawson in 2016, Tennessee's Christian Coleman in 2017, Florida's Grant Holloway in 2019 and LSU's JuVaughn Harrison in 2021.

The Bowerman will be presented in December at the annual USTFCCCA Convention to be held in Aurora, Colo.