The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

SEC names Auburn nominees for McWhorter Award

231 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: SEC

BIRMINGHAM, Alabama (April 12, 2023) - Jacob Quattlebaum of the Auburn football team and Emma Kurtz of the Tiger equestrian squad have been nominated for the H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship by Auburn University.

The H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship has been presented by the Southeastern Conference since 1986 to the league's top male and female scholar-athletes.

The Southeastern Conference will name the 2023 recipients of the H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship on May 2

Highlights of Auburn's nominees include:

 Jacob Quattlebaum,  Auburn  Football  Electrical Engineering 
  • 2020-21 SAAC President, 2020-21
  • SEC Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, 2020-22
  • SEC Academic Honor Roll, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022
  • College Sports Communicators Academic All-District, 2022
  • Burlsworth Trophy nominee, 2022
  • Active in Fellowship of Christian Athletes
  • Currently enrolled in the MBA program
  • Third-year starting long snapper
 Emma Kurtz, Auburn Equestrian Exercise Science
  • Chi Alpha Sigma national student-athlete honor society
  • 2022 graduate in finance with a 3.94 GPA
  • Four-time NCEA All-Academic First Team
  • SEC Academic Honor Roll, 2020, 2021, 2022
  • Will graduate with a master's degree in business administration
  • Eight-time NCEA All-American
  • SEC Fences Rider of the Year, 2022
  • All-SEC, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022
  • SEC All-Freshman Team, 2019
  • Will finish her career as one of the best in Jumping Seat
    in the sport's history
  • Among Auburn's best in Fences & Flat as she's among
    the program's Top 5 in career wins

The SEC provides the league's male and female McWhorter Scholar-Athlete of the Year Post-Graduate Scholarship recipients with a $20,000 post-graduate scholarship. The 26 remaining male and female finalists for the award will also receive a $10,000 post-graduate scholarship.

The award recipients are chosen by a committee of Faculty Athletics Representatives from the 14 SEC institutions and are announced in May, as well as honored by the league membership at SEC Spring Meetings in Destin, Fla.

Last year's McWhorter Award recipients were Mississippi State football student-athlete Austin Williams and Lisa Gunnarsson of the LSU women's track & field team.