The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

SEC names Tennessee McWhorter Award Nominees

304 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: SEC

BIRMINGHAM, Alabama (April 25, 2023) - Ashley Rogers of the Tennessee softball team and Paxton Brooks the Volunteers' football team have been nominated for the H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship by the University of Tennessee.

The H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship has been presented by the Southeastern Conference since 1986 to the league's top male and female scholar-athletes.

The Southeastern Conference will name the 2023 recipients of the H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship on May 2.

Highlights of Tennessee's nominees include:

 Ashley Rogers, Tennessee  Softball Kinesiology
  • Graduated from Tennessee in May 2022 with undergraduate degree in Kinesiology
  • Pursuing a Master's in Kinesiology with a Biomechanics concentration
  • CoSIDA Academic All-America Second Team member, 2021, 2022
  • Two-time CoSIDA Academic All-District 3 First Team
  • Four-time member of the SEC Academic Honor Roll, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022
  • Three-time Easton/NFCA Scholar-Athlete, 2019, 2021, 2022
  • NFCA All-America Second Team, 2021
  • All-SEC First Team, 2019, 2021
  • SEC All-Tournament Team, 2022
  • Two-time NFCA All-Southeast Region First Team honoree, 2021, 2019
  • Schutt Sports/NFCA Freshman of the Year Top 10 List, 2019
  • USA Softball National Player of the Year Watchlist, 2023, 2022
  • Ranks top five in Tennessee history in wins (71), ERA (1.54), shutouts (23),
    winning percentage (.779) and strikeouts (755)
 Paxton Brooks, Tennessee Football Kinesiology
  • Graduated Summa Cum Laude with a bachelor's degree in kinesiology in
    May 2021, posting a 3.92 cumulative GPA
  • Two-time CSC Academic All-American, earning first-team laurels in 2021 and
    second-team accolades in 2022
  • The first Tennessee football student-athlete to earn CSC (formerly CoSIDA)
    All-America honors in back-to-back seasons since Peyton Manning from 1996-97
  • Three-time CSC Academic All-District selection
  • Four-time Fall SEC Academic Honor Roll recipient
  • Selected as a semifinalist for the 2022 William V. Campbell Trophy, presented
    annually to the top scholar athlete in college football 
  • Member of the prestigious 2020-21 VOLeaders Academy and capped the
    year-long leadership program with a 12-day cultural exchange trip to Belize
  • Dean's List every single semester at Tennessee
  • Earned a Master of Science degree in kinesiology in December 2022
  • Member of the NFF Hampshire Honor Society
  • Served as Tennessee's starting punter for four straight seasons, averaging
    42.33 yards per punt for his career, which ranked eighth in program history
  • One of just five punters selected to attend the 2022 NFL Combine
  • Also was the Volunteers' kickoff specialist, posting a 60.5-yard career average
  • Was top 10 in the nation in kickoff average in 2020, posting a mark of 64.1 yards per

The SEC provides the league's male and female McWhorter Scholar-Athlete of the Year Post-Graduate Scholarship recipients with a $20,000 post-graduate scholarship. The 26 remaining male and female finalists for the award will also receive a $10,000 post-graduate scholarship.

The award recipients are chosen by a committee of Faculty Athletics Representatives from the 14 SEC institutions and are announced in May, as well as honored by the league membership at SEC Spring Meetings in Destin, Fla.

Last year's McWhorter Award recipients were Mississippi State football student-athlete Austin Williams and Lisa Gunnarsson of the LSU women's track & field team.