The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

SEC names Vanderbilt McWhorter Award Nominees

215 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: SEC

BIRMINGHAM, Alabama (April 27, 2023) - Mabel Cummins of the Vanderbilt women's bowling team and Max Beck of the Commodores' men's cross country team have been nominated for the H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship by Vanderbilt University.

The H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship has been presented by the Southeastern Conference since 1986 to the league's top male and female scholar-athletes.

The Southeastern Conference will name the 2023 recipients of the H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship on May 2.

Highlights of Vanderbilt's nominees include:

 Mabel Cummins, Vanderbilt Bowling team Neuroscience
  • Carries a 3.496 GPA in neuroscience
  • Five-time Dean's list member
  • Two-time SEC Academic Honor Roll
  • After graduation, plans to earn her Master's in Biological Sciences at Vanderbilt
  • NTCA/NCAA Player of the Year, 2022-23
  • First Team All-American, 2022-23
  • Selected to Team USA, 2022-23
  • NTCA central All-Region Team, 2022-23
  • Southland Bowling League Bowler of the Year, 2022-23
  • Two individual first place titles, 2022-23
  • Won a silver medal competing for Team USA in IBF U21 World Championships
    team competition, 2022-23
 Max Beck, Vanderbilt Cross Country/Track & Field Biochemistry and Chemical
  • Three-time SEC Academic Honor Roll honoree
  • Six-time Vanderbilt Dean's List honoree
  • Double major who owns a 3.962 grade-point average
  • Three-year member of the Vanderbilt men's cross country team
  • Competed at two SEC Cross Country Championships
  • Competed in four of five meets during the 2022 season
  • Recorded a personal best in the 8k at the Arturo Barrios Invitational, shaving
    almost two seconds off his previous best time

The SEC provides the league's male and female McWhorter Scholar-Athlete of the Year Post-Graduate Scholarship recipients with a $20,000 post-graduate scholarship. The 26 remaining male and female finalists for the award will also receive a $10,000 post-graduate scholarship.

The award recipients are chosen by a committee of Faculty Athletics Representatives from the 14 SEC institutions and are announced in May, as well as honored by the league membership at SEC Spring Meetings in Destin, Fla.

Last year's McWhorter Award recipients were Mississippi State football student-athlete Austin Williams and Lisa Gunnarsson of the LSU women's track & field team.