The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Arkansas men, Arkansas women lead entering final day

24 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: SEC Staff

BATON ROUGE, La. (May 12, 2023)-----The Arkansas men and Arkansas women hold the team leads entering the final day of competition at the 2023 Southeastern Conference Outdoor Championships held here at Bernie Moore Track & Field Stadium.

The Arkansas men lead the team standings with 57 total points, followed by Georgia (35), Texas A&M (34), Mississippi State (31), Auburn (28), Ole Miss (26), LSU (22), Alabama (17), Kentucky (17), South Carolina (14), Tennessee (14), Missouri (11) and Florida (6).

Arkansas leads the women's standings with 61 points, followed by Ole Miss (45), Texas A&M (43), Florida (37), Alabama (23), Missouri (22), Vanderbilt (22), Tennessee (16), Auburn (15), Georgia (11), Kentucky (11), LSU (5) and South Carolina (1).

Individual champions crowned Georgia's Kyle Garland won the men's decathlon with a meet record 8,589 points, also No. 2 in collegiate history, while Beatrice Juskeviciute of Vanderbilt won the women's heptathlon with 6,079 total points.

Other individual women's champions crowned on Friday were: Arkansas' Amanda Fassold in the pole vault (4.35m/14-3.25), Florida's Jasmine Moore in the long jump (6.88m/22-7), Florida's Alida Van Daalen in the shot put (18.07m/59-4.5) and Ole Miss' Kristel van den Berg in the 3000m steeplechase (9:56.56).

Other individual men's winners on Friday were: Arkansas' Jordan West in the shot put (20.57m/67-6), Missouri's Roberto Vilches in the high jump (2.21m/7-3) and Texas A&M's Francesco Romano in the 3000m steeplechase (8:54.79) and Arkansas' Wayne Pinnock in the long jump (8.37m/27-5.5).

Individual champions crowned Thursday were: Auburn's Madi Malone in the women's hammer throw (68.69m), Ole Miss' Tarik Robinson-O'Hagan in the men's hammer throw (71.25m), Texas A&M's Lianna Davidson in the women's javelin (57.65m), Georgia's Marc Minichello in the men's javelin (79.50m), Arkansas' Sydney Thorvaldson in the women's 10,000m (34:18.10) and Alabama's Victor Kiprop in the men's 10,000m (29:58.43).

The SEC Outdoor Championships conclude on Saturday with action beginning at 2 p.m. Live television coverage will begin at 5 p.m. on the SEC Network.