The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Record eight SEC teams set to host NCAA regionals

122 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Alabama Athletics

BIRMINGHAM, Alabama -- A record eight Southeastern Conference baseball programs were selected among 16 regional hosts for the NCAA Baseball Tournament, according to an announcement Sunday by the NCAA Division I Baseball Committee.

The previous record was seven SEC hosts in 2016 and 2021.

The eight SEC schools named as NCAA Regional hosts are Alabama, Arkansas, Auburn, Florida, Kentucky, LSU, South Carolina and Vanderbilt. They are scheduled to begin play in the NCAA Tournament this Friday, June 2.

The full 64-team field waas announced on Monday, and also included from the SEC Texas A&M and Tennessee.

The other eight hosts are Clemson, Coastal Carolina, Indiana State, Miami, Oklahoma State, Stanford, Virginia and Wake Forest. Each regional will consist of four teams playing in a double-elimination format.

Regional winners will advance to best-of-three Super Regionals, with those eight winners advancing to the College World Series in Omaha.

Vanderbilt won the SEC Tournament on Sunday with a 10-4 victory over Texas A&M in the championship game. Arkansas and Florida won 20 SEC games and were named SEC champions at the end of the regular season.