The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Hogs' Hibbert, Dawgs' Garland named Bowerman finalists

89 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: SEC

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (June 27, 2023)----- Arkansas track and field standout Jaydon Hibbert and Georgia standout Kyle Garland have been named finalists for The Bowerman, according to an announcement Tuesday by the United States Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA).

Hibbert and Garland are among three male finalists chosen by The Bowerman Advisory Board. The other finalist is Texas' Leo Neugebauer.

The female finalists were announced on Monday, and they include Arkansas' Britton Wilson and Florida's Jasmine Moore. Among the combined six male and female finalists, four are from the SEC.

The Bowerman is the highest honor bestowed to collegiate track and field's most outstanding athletes of the year. An SEC female athlete has won the Bowerman each of the last four times the award was presented: Georgia's Keturah Orji in 2018, LSU's Sha'Carri Richardson in 2019, Texas A&M's Athing Mu in 2021 and Kentucky's Abby Steiner in 2022.

An SEC male athlete has won the Bowerman in six of the last eight years in which the award was presented: Texas A&M's Deon Lendore in 2014, Florida's Marquis Dendy in 2015, Arkansas' Jarrion Lawson in 2016, Tennessee's Christian Coleman in 2017, Florida's Grant Holloway in 2019 and LSU's JuVaughn Harrison in 2021.

The SEC has had 34 finalists since The Bowerman's inception in 2009, which leads all conferences.

Online fan voting for The Bowerman begins Tuesday at 3 p.m. CT at The Bowerman will be presented in December at the annual USTFCCCA Convention to be held in Denver.