The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

SEC Basketball Leadership Council set to meet

13 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: SEC Staff

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (Sept. 14, 2023) ----- The Southeastern Conference Men's and Women's Basketball Leadership Councils, which consist of one male and female basketball student-athlete from each of the SEC's 14 universities, will convene for an annual meeting at the SEC offices in Birmingham Friday and Saturday.

The Men's Basketball Leadership Council and the Women's Basketball Leadership Council comprise two components of the SEC Student-Athlete Leadership Council. The third component is the Football Leadership Council, which meets each February.

The goal of the Council is for student-athletes to serve as a conduit of communication from their teams to the conference office on issues related to student-athlete experience, student-athlete wellness, and to provide feedback on proposed rules governing the SEC and NCAA. The agenda for the two-day meeting this weekend includes a conversation with SEC Chief Medical Advisor Dr. Katie O'Neal, a presentation from guest speaker Michael Haddix and engagement with conference office staff.

The student-athletes who comprise the SEC Basketball Leadership Council are listed below.

Men's Basketball
 Alabama Max Scharnowski
 Arkansas Lawson Blake
 Auburn Tre Donaldson
 Florida Alex Klatsky
 Georgia Noah Thomasson
 Kentucky Grant Darbyshire
 LSU Will Baker
 Ole Miss Brandon Murray
 Mississippi State Trey Jackson III
 Missouri Nick Honor
 South Carolina Jacobi Wright
 Tennessee Jahmai Mashack
 Texas A&M Henry Coleman III
 Vanderbilt Colin Smith
Women's Basketball
 Alabama Meg Newman
 Arkansas Maryam Dauda
 Auburn Audia Young
 Florida Alberte Rimdal
 Georgia De'Mauri Flournoy
 Kentucky Nyah Leveretter
 LSU Izzy Besselman
 Ole Miss Madison Scott
 Mississippi State Debreasha Powe
 Missouri Hayley Frank
 South Carolina Bree Hall
 Tennessee Tamari Ket
 Texas A&M Jada Malone
 Vanderbilt Jada Brown