The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

2023 SEC Cross Country Awards Announced

14 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: SEC

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (Nov. 14, 2023) -----The Southeastern Conference announced its 2023 cross country awards on Tuesday as voted on by the league's head coaches.

The men's recipients include Alabama's Victor Kiprop (Runner of the Year), Tennessee's Dean Casey (Freshman Runner of the Year) and Arkansas' Chris Bucknam (Coach of the Year).

The women's recipients include Florida's Parker Valby (Runner of the Year), Alabama's Doris Lemngole (Freshman Runner of the Year) and Florida's Will Palmer (Coach of the Year).

Kiprop won the SEC men's title with a time of 22:23.4, claiming his second consecutive SEC crown. Casey was the top male freshman finisher at the SEC Championship with a time of 23:15.0.

Valby won her second consecutive SEC women's title with a time of 18:37.5. Lemngole was second with a time of 19:11.2.

Bucknam guided the Arkansas men to their 28th SEC crown and third in the last four seasons. Palmer guided the Florida women to their seventh SEC title and first since 2012.

It was previously announced that Ryan Kinnane of Auburn and Loral Winn of Ole Miss were voted the SEC Cross Country Scholar-Athletes of the Year.

Eight SEC teams and runners from five other SEC squads will compete in the NCAA Championships Saturday in Charlottesville, Va.

2023 SEC Cross Country Awards
Award Student-Athlete School
Men's Runner of the Year Victor Kiprop Alabama
Men's Freshman of the Year Dean Casey Tennessee
Men's Scholar-Athlete of the Year Ryan Kinnane Auburn
Men's Coach of the Year Chris Bucknam Arkansas
Women's Runner of the Year Parker Valby Florida
Women's Freshman of the Year Doris Lemngole Alabama
Women's Scholar-Athlete of the Year Loral Winn Ole Miss
Women's Coach of the Year Will Palmer Florida