The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Two from SEC named to men's Bowerman watch list

16 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Southeastern Conference

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (February 8, 2024) ----- Two current Southeastern Conference male track and field athletes were named to the updated watch list for The Bowerman, it was announced Thursday by the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association.

Named to the watch list from the SEC were Arkansas teammates Romaine Beckford and Wayne Pinnock. Texas' Leo Neugebauer was also named to the list. A total of 10 athletes nationwide were named to the watch list.

Auburn's Favour Ashe, Kentucky's Keaton Daniel, Florida's Robert Gregory, LSU's Godson Oghenebrume and Alabama's Tarsis Orogot were listed among athletes also receiving votes.

Six SEC athletes were named to the women's Bowerman watch list on Wednesday.

The Bowerman is the highest honor bestowed to collegiate track and field's most outstanding athletes of the year. An SEC female athlete has won the Bowerman four of the last five times the award was presented: Georgia's Keturah Orji in 2018, LSU's Sha'Carri Richardson in 2019, Texas A&M's Athing Mu in 2021 and Kentucky's Abby Steiner in 2022.

An SEC male athlete has won the Bowerman seven of the last nine years in which the award was presented: Texas A&M's Deon Lendore in 2014, Florida's Marquis Dendy in 2015, Arkansas' Jarrion Lawson in 2016, Tennessee's Christian Coleman in 2017, Florida's Grant Holloway in 2019, LSU's JuVaughn Harrison in 2021 and Arkansas's Jaydon Hibbert in 2023.

The Bowerman will be presented in December at the annual USTFCCCA Convention in Orlando.