The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Championships - Softball

78 days ago
Photo: Florida Athletics

2022 SEC Softball Tournament 

May 10-14, 2022
Katie Seashole Pressly Stadium - Gainesville, Fla.

The SEC Softball Tournament is an on-campus event. It rotates to all 13 schools with future sites set for Arkansas (2023), Georgia (2024), Auburn (2025), Kentucky (2026), LSU (2027), Missouri (2028) and Ole Miss (2029).

The tournament is a 13-team, single elimination format, beginning on Tuesday and concluding with the championship game on Saturday. The 13 tournament teams shall be determined based on the highest percentage of wins during regular-season Conference competition. The winner of the tournament receives the league's automatic bid to the NCAA Championship.

The inaugural tournament in 1997 was a double-elimination event with six teams. The following year, the double-elimination bracket expanded to include eight teams vying to the championship title.

The first seven tournament were held at neutral sites: the South Commons Stadium in Columbus, Ga. (1997-2000), Jim Frost Stadium in Chattanooga, Tenn. (2001-2002) and Plant City Stadium in Plant City, Fla. (2003). In 2004, the SEC Softball Tournament moved to on-campus sites.

The tournament expanded three times in the past decade. In 2013, 10 teams earned a spot in the championship. The tournament featured 12 teams for the first time in 2015, and in 2019, the bracket included all 13 teams in the conference.

2022 SEC Softball Tournament Schedule*
Date Time (ET) Matchup Network Recap
Tuesday, May 10 TBD Game 1: No. 12 seed vs. No. 13 seed
Wednesday, May 11 TBD Game 2: No. 6 seed vs. No. 11 seed
35 minutes after Game 2 Game 3: No. 7 seed vs. No. 10 seed
35 minutes after Game 3 Game 4: No. 5 seed vs. Winner of Game 1
35 minutes after Game 4 Game 5: No. 8 seed vs. No. 9 seed
Thursday, May 12 TBD Game 6: No. 3 seed vs. Winner of Game 2
35 minutes after Game 6 Game 7: No. 2 seed vs. Winner of Game 3
35 minutes after Game 7 Game 8: No. 4 seed vs. Winner of Game 4
35 minutes after Game 8 Game 9: No. 1 seed vs. Winner of Game 5
Friday, May 13 TBD Game 10: Winner of Game 6 vs. Winner of Game 7
35 minutes after Game 10 Game 11: Winner of Game 8 vs. Winner of Game 9
Saturday, May 14 TBD Championship Game

*The host institution will have the first choice of the available times to play its first game of the tournament and the bracket will adjust accordingly.

SEC Softball Tournament Champions