The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Coaches tab SC as 2015 SEC women's basketball champs

2152 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Jason Getz | AP Images

Birmingham, Ala. -- South Carolina was predicted to win the 2015 Southeastern Conference women's basketball championship in a vote of the league's coaches.

As the reigning SEC regular season champions, South Carolina returns all five starters from last season's title team and lost just two letter winners from a squad that went 29-5 and advanced to the NCAA Sweet 16.

South Carolina tops the order of finish with 169 points, with Tennessee (155), Texas A&M (144), Kentucky (135), Georgia (108), Vanderbilt (107), and LSU (94) rounding out the top half the league. Mississippi State (87), Florida (86), Auburn (53), Missouri (48), Arkansas (40), Alabama (25) and Ole Miss (23) round out the bottom half.

South Carolina's Tiffany Mitchell was voted as SEC Women's Basketball Preseason Player of the Year. Mitchell's teammate Aleighsa Welch, Tennessee's Isabelle Harrison and Texas A&M's Courtney Walker also received votes.

Joining Mitchell, Welch, Harrison and Walker on the All-SEC Preseason First Team are Jessica Jackson, Arkansas; Jennifer O'Neill, Kentucky; Danielle Ballard, LSU; Martha Alwal, Mississippi State; Alaina Coates, South Carolina; and Bashaara Graves, Tennessee.

The Preseason Second Team All-SEC is comprised of Kayla Lewis, Florida; Shacobia Barbee, Georgia; Bria Goss, Kentucky; Tia Faleru, Ole Miss; Morgan Eye, Missouri; Jordan Jones, Texas A&M; Courtney Williams, Texas A&M; and Rebekah Dahlman, Vanderbilt. Points were compiled on a 13-12-11-10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 basis.

Each coach also voted for an eight-player All-SEC first team, an eight-player All-SEC second team and the Player of the Year. Coaches cannot vote for their own team or players and ties are not broken.

Order of Finish

1. South Carolina 169

2. Tennessee 155

3. Texas A&M 144

4. Kentucky 135

5. Georgia 108

6. Vanderbilt 107

7. LSU 94

8. Mississippi State 87

9. Florida 86

10. Auburn 53

11. Missouri 48

12. Arkansas 40

13. Alabama 25

14. Ole Miss 23

Player of the Year

Tiffany Mitchell, South Carolina

First Team All-SEC

Jessica Jackson, Arkansas

Jennifer O'Neill, Kentucky

Danielle Ballard, LSU

Martha Alwal, Mississippi State

Alaina Coates, South Carolina

Tiffany Mitchell, South Carolina

Aleighsa Welch, South Carolina

Bashaara Graves, Tennessee

Isabelle Harrison, Tennessee

Courtney Walker, Texas A&M

Second Team All-SEC

Kayla Lewis, Florida

Shacobia Barbee, Georgia

Bria Goss, Kentucky

Tia Faleru, Ole Miss

Morgan Eye, Missouri

Jordan Jones, Texas A&M

Courtney Williams, Texas A&M

Rebekah Dahlman, Vanderbilt