The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

2016 SEC Women's Basketball Awards announced

1931 days ago
SEC staff
Photo: SEC

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- The Southeastern Conference announced its 2016 women's basketball postseason awards Tuesday, highlighted by South Carolina's Dawn Staley being named Coach of the Year.

South Carolina's A'ja Wilson was named Player of the Year after being named Freshman of the Year last season. Wilson was also named Defensive Player of the Year.

Texas A&M's Chelsea Jennings was voted 6th Woman of the Year, while Georgia's Marjorie Butler garnered Scholar-Athlete of the Year honors.

First-team and second-team All-SEC honorees, All-Freshman team, All-Defensive team, along with Player, Coach and Freshman, Defensive Player, 6th Player and Scholar-Athlete of the Year were chosen by the league's 14 coaches.

The complete 2016 SEC Women's Basketball Postseason Awards follow.

First Team All-SEC
Jessica Jackson, Arkansas
Shacobia Barbee, Georgia
Makayla Epps, Kentucky
Victoria Vivians, Mississippi State
Alaina Coates, South Carolina
Tiffany Mitchell, South Carolina
A'ja Wilson, South Carolina
Courtney Walker, Texas A&M

Second Team All-SEC
Ronni Williams, Florida
Tiaria Griffin, Georgia
Evelyn Akhator, Kentucky
Janee Thompson, Kentucky
Sophie Cunningham, Missouri
Jordan Frericks, Missouri
Jordan Jones, Texas A&M
Courtney Williams, Texas A&M

Eleanna Christinaki, Florida
Caliya Robinson, Georgia
Maci Morris, Kentucky
Teaira McCowan, Mississippi State
Sophie Cunningham, Missouri
Cierra Porter, Missouri
Te'a Cooper, Tennessee
Anriel Howard, Texas A&M

Simone Westbrook, Florida
Shacobia Barbee, Georgia
Dominique Dillingham, Mississippi State
A'ja Wilson, South Carolina
Jordan Jones, Texas A&M

Coach of the Year: Dawn Staley, South Carolina

Player of the Year: A'ja Wilson, South Carolina

Freshman of the Year: Sophie Cunningham, Missouri

Defensive Player of the Year: A'ja Wilson, South Carolina

6th Woman of the Year: Chelsea Jennings, Texas A&M

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Marjorie Butler, Georgia