The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

2016 SEC Softball Awards announced

2393 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: SEC

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- The Southeastern Conference announced its annual softball awards to cap the 2016 season and kick off the SEC Softball Tournament in Starkville, Miss., May 11-14. The All-SEC Teams consist of 28 total student-athletes, along with a 14-member All-Freshman team and a 12-member All-Defensive Team. No ties were broken.

Kasey Cooper of Auburn was named Player of the Year, while Kelsey Nunley of Kentucky earned Pitcher of the Year honors. Freshman of the Year honors went to Amanda Lorenz of Florida. Cooper also earned the Scholar-Athlete of the Year award. Rachel Lawson of Kentucky was selected as Coach of the Year. The awards were voted on by the league's head coaches.

The complete 2016 SEC Softball Postseason Awards:

First Team All-SEC

P - Delanie Gourley, Florida
P - Aleshia Ocasio, Florida
P - Kelsey Nunley, Kentucky
IF - Kasey Cooper, Auburn
IF - Alyssa DiCarlo, Georgia
IF - Bianka Bell, LSU
IF - Meghan Gregg, Tennessee
IF - Tori Vidales, Texas A&M
OF - Haylie McCleney, Alabama
OF - Amanda Lorenz, Florida
OF - Sydni Emanuel, Georgia
OF - Emily Crane, Missouri
C - Ashley Walters, Texas A&M
DP/U - Kayli Kvistad, Florida

Second Team All-SEC

P - Sydney Littlejohn, Alabama
P - Chelsea Wilkinson, Georgia
P - Carley Hoover, LSU
IF - Leona Lafaele, Alabama
IF - Jade Rhodes, Auburn
IF - Alex Hugo, Georgia
IF - Tina Iosefa, Georgia
IF - Sami Fagan, Missouri
OF - Kirsti Merritt, Florida
OF - Cortni Emanuel, Georgia
OF - Taylor Gadbois, Missouri
OF - Keeli Milligan, Texas A&M
C - Aubree Munro, Florida
DP/U - Rainey Gaffin, Tennessee

Freshman All-SEC

P - Kelly Barnhill, Florida
P - Matty Moss, Tennessee
P - Samantha Show, Texas A&M
IF - Alyssa DiCarlo, Georgia
IF - Lacey Sumerlin, Georgia
IF - Hailey Lunderman, Ole Miss
IF - Aubrey Leach, Tennessee
IF - Kaitlyn Alderink, Texas A&M
OF - Amanda Lorenz, Florida
OF - Regan Nash, Missouri
OF - Brooke Vines, Tennessee
OF - Keeli Milligan, Texas A&M
C - Reagan Dykes, Alabama
DP/U - Abbey Cheek, Kentucky

SEC All-Defensive

P - Rainey Gaffin, Tennessee
C - Aubree Munro, Florida
1B - Leona Lafaele, Alabama
1B - Jade Rhodes, Auburn
1B - Maisie Steed, Kentucky
1B - Tori Vidales, Texas A&M
2B - Emily Carosone, Auburn
SS - Christian Stokes, Kentucky
3B - Kasey Cooper, Auburn
LF - Kallie Case, Alabama
CF - Haylie McCleney, Alabama
RF - Emily Crane, Missouri

Player of the Year: Kasey Cooper, Auburn
Pitcher of the Year: Kelsey Nunley, Kentucky
Freshman of the Year: Amanda Lorenz, Florida
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Kasey Cooper, Auburn
Coach of the Year: Rachel Lawson, Kentucky