The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

2016 SEC Men's Golf Championship

1491 days ago
Photo: Steven Colquitt

2016 SEC Men's Golf Championship
April 15-17, 2016 -- St. Simons Island, Ga.
Seaside Course, Sea Island Golf Club
Par 70
Team Champion: University of Georgia
Individual Champion: Lee McCoy, University of Georgia

2016 SEC Men's Golf Championship

This marks the 16th year for the Southeastern Conference Championship to be contested on the Sea Island Golf Club's Seaside Course. The SEC has conducted its annual championship on St. Simons Island since 2001 (Seaside Course 2001-2007, 2010-2015; Frederica Golf Club 2008-2009). Since 1927, the Sea Island Golf Club has enjoyed a legacy as one of America's premier golf clubs.

Rated No. 1 in the U.S. among the "World's 50 Best Golf Hotels" by Golf Digest Index, Sea Island Golf Club offers three exceptional 18-hole championship courses. The Seaside Course, home to the PGA TOUR's McGladrey Classic, is a links course graced by majestic ocean vistas in the tradition of St. Andrews.

The Seaside Course was totally reconfigured by Tom Fazio and reopened in October 1999. The new Seaside Course is the brilliant blending of Colt & Allison's original nine-hole Seaside and Joe Lee's Marshside nine into one seamless, contemporary 18-hole golf course. Tidal creeks, dunes, saltmarshes and St. Simons Sound frame the course which plays fast, firm and fun in the tradition of legendary Scottish links.

The course will play a par-70 at 6,898 yards.

The SEC Men's Golf Championship has been played at Sea Island since 2001, with Georgia winning five of the 15 championships. Alabama has won four times, Florida has won twice, while Auburn, Kentucky, LSU and Tennessee have each won one conference tournament title during that time.

LSU finished at 13-under 827 at the 2015 SEC Championship to win the conference title for the first time since 1987 and 16th all-time.