The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

2017 SEC Soccer Awards announced

2227 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Jimmy Mitchell

Birmingham, Ala. - The Southeastern Conference unveiled its soccer coaches' postseason awards Sunday to cap off another exciting season of SEC soccer.

South Carolina's Shelley Smith earned SEC Coach of the Year honors while Mississippi State senior midfielder/forward Mallory Eubanks was named SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year. South Carolina's Savannah McCaskill was selected as the SEC Offensive Player of the Year for the second consecutive season. South Carolina sophomore defender Grace Fisk was tabbed SEC Defensive Player of the Year and Florida's Deanne Rose garnered SEC Freshman of the Year honors.

It is the second consecutive and fourth overall SEC Coach of the Year honor for Smith, who led the Gamecocks to their third regular season SEC championship with a 9-0-1 record. South Carolina became the second school in SEC soccer history to notch 20-straight victories in league play with its win over the Tigers on Oct 19. The Gamecocks are unbeaten in their last 22 matches in conference action, and they boast 15 clean sheets in league play since the start of the 2016 season.

Eubanks, who has a 3.91 grade point average in Kinesiology, has been a team captain for each of the past three seasons. A native of Lexington, Ky., Eubanks ranks in a tie for eighth in school history with 33 career points.

McCaskill becomes the second South Carolina player to win back-to-back SEC Offensive Player of the Year honors, joining Kayla Grimsley (2010 & 2011). The senior from Chapin, S.C., has served as the primary catalyst to the Carolina attack this season, logging a team-high nine assists

Fisk, a native of Bromley, London, England, anchored a stingy South Carolina defense that held opponents to a conference-best three goals in SEC play this season. The Gamecocks have notched clean sheets in 11 of their last 14 matches, allowing just four goals over that stretch.

Rose earned SEC Freshman of the Year honors after leading the Gators with five goals and 12 points in SEC games this season. A forward on Canada's 2016 bronze medal Olympic team, the Alliston, Ontario, native has netted four game-winning goals this year.

  2017 SEC Soccer Awards

First Team All-SEC
Forward: Kristen Dodson, Auburn
Forward: Savannah McCaskill, South Carolina
Forward: Khadija Shaw, Tennessee
Forward: Ally Watt, Texas A&M
Midfielder: Gabby Seiler, Florida
Midfielder: CeCe Kizer, Ole Miss
Midfielder: Katie Cousins, Tennessee
Midfielder: Mikaela Harvey, Texas A&M
Defender: Celia Jimenez Delgado, Alabama
Defender: Caroline Bado, Auburn
Defender: Grace Fisk, South Carolina
Defender: Maya Neal, Tennessee
Defender: Stephanie Amack, Vanderbilt
Goalkeeper: Catalina Perez, Mississippi State
At-Large: Parker Roberts, Florida
At-Large: Deanne Rose, Florida

Second Team All-SEC
Forward: Abbie Boswell, Alabama
Forward: Channing Foster, Ole Miss
Forward: Sarah Luebbert, Missouri
Forward: Simone Charley, Vanderbilt
Midfielder: Emma Welch, Alabama
Midfielder: Mallory Eubanks, Mississippi State
Midfielder: Kaitlyn Clark, Missouri
Midfielder: Lindsey Lane, South Carolina
Midfielder: Anna Bialczak, Tennessee
Defender: Jessi Hartzler, Arkansas
Defender: Kristen Cardano, Florida
Defender: Rachelle Smith, Florida
Defender: Chiara Ritchie-Williams, LSU
Defender: Tatumn Milazzo, South Carolina
Defender: Kendall Ritchie, Texas A&M
Goalkeeper: Mikayla Krzeczowski, South Carolina
At-Large: Parker Goins, Arkansas
At-Large: MaKayla Waldner, Mississippi State

All-Freshman Team
Parker Goins, Arkansas
Alyssa Malonson, Auburn
Deanne Rose, Florida
Miranda Jimenez, Kentucky
Channing Foster, Ole Miss
Ryan Gareis, South Carolina
Jackie Schaefer, South Carolina
Luciana Zullo, South Carolina
Erin Gilroy, Tennessee
Addie McCain, Texas A&M
Myra Konte, Vanderbilt

Coach of the Year
Shelley Smith, South Carolina

Offensive Player of the Year
Savannah McCaskill, South Carolina

Defensive Player of the Year
Grace Fisk, South Carolina

Freshman of the Year
Deanne Rose, Florida

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Mallory Eubanks, Mississippi State