The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Four from SEC named Senior CLASS Award finalists

1847 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Jim Burgess

Four SEC football players who excel both on and off the field were selected as finalists for the 2017 Senior CLASS Award. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I FBS senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition.

The 10-finalist list includes Auburn place kicker Daniel Carlson, Arkansas center Frank Ragnow, Alabama punter JK Scott and Florida punter Johnny Townsend.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The 10 finalists were chosen by a selection committee from the list of 30 candidates announced in October. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner, and fans are encouraged to vote on the Senior CLASS Award website through December 4. Fan votes will be combined with media and Division I head coaches' votes to determine the winner. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the football bowl season in early January.