The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

SEC has record night on Day 2 of championships

2044 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: Thomas Campbell

Live Results Final Results (PDF)

COLLEGE STATION, Texas - The Florida men and the Texas A&M women are in the lead at the 2018 SEC Swimming & Diving Championships following day two of the event at Texas A&M's Rec Center Natatorium.

On the men's side, Florida is in first place with 432 points, while Tennessee holds onto second with 411 points. For the women, Texas A&M has 469 points to maintain the top spot, and Georgia sits in second place with 361 points.

To begin the evening session, Geena Freriks of Kentucky won the women's 500 freestyle, touching in wall first in a time of 4:37.20. Courtney Harnish of Georgia took second place with a time of 4:38.21, while Claire Rasmus of Texas A&M placed third with a time of 4:39.23.

Fynn Minuth of South Carolina defended his title in the men's 500 freestyle and set the SEC meet record with his time of 4:10.51. Fellow Gamecock Akaram Mahmoud came in second (4:11.47), while Khader Baqlah of Florida finished third (4:14.48).

In the women's 200 IM, Sydney Pickrem of Texas A&M earned the gold medal with a pool record time of 1:52.69. Asia Seidt of Kentucky came in second (1:53.04), and Meghan Small of Tennessee took third (1:53.05).

Caeleb Dressel of Florida set the US Open, NCAA and American records in the men's 200 IM with a time of 1:38.13. Hugo Gonzalez of Auburn came in second with a time of 1:40.67 and Mark Szaranek of Florida took third with a time of 1:41.00.

First place in the women's 50 free went to Erika Brown of Tennessee, who posted a final time of 21.39. Second place went to Alyssa Tetzloff of Auburn (21.94) and third to Bailey Scott of Alabama (21.96).

Zachary Apple of Auburn posted the top time in the men's 50 free (19.08). Kyle Decoursey of Tennessee took second (19.12) and Robert Howard of Alabama finished third (19.14).

In the men's 1-meter springboard, Juan Celaya Hernandez of LSU set the SEC record with a final score of 479.10. Colin Zeng of Tennessee finished second with a score of 455.60, while Sam Thornton of Texas A&M placed third with a score of 406.35.

The foursome of Madeline Banic, Brown, Bailey Grinter and Stanzi Moseley from Tennessee won the women's 200 free relay with a time of 1:27.26. On the men's side, the quartet of Howard, Zane Waddell, Braxton Young and Laurent Bams of Alabama took home the gold in the men's 200 free relay with a final time of 1:16.38.

The 2018 SEC Swimming & Diving Championships continues on Friday, Feb. 16 at 10 a.m. ET with the preliminaries for the 400 IM, 100 fly, 200 free and the women's 3-meter diving, followed by the finals of those four events starting at 6 p.m. ET. Both sessions can be viewed on SEC Network+.

2018 SEC Swimming & Diving Championships - Day Two (Feb. 15 - College Station, Texas) Wednesday's Final Results:

Men's Team Results (through 8 events):

1. Florida 432

2. Tennessee 411

3. Texas A&M 409

4. Georgia 365

5. Kentucky 298

6. South Carolina 285

7. Auburn 283.5

8. Alabama 268.5

9. Missouri 267.5

10. LSU 220.5

Women's Team Results (through 7 events):

1. Texas A&M 469

2. Georgia 361

3. Tennessee 337.5

4. Auburn 250.5

5. Kentucky 250

6. Alabama 241

7. Missouri 236

8. Florida 219.5

9. South Carolina 218.5

10. Arkansas 188

11. LSU 161

12. Vanderbilt 106