The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Tigers shine on platform, Dressel sets record on Day 4

1744 days ago
SEC Staff

Live Results

COLLEGE STATION, Texas - The Florida men and Texas A&M women maintain their lead after day four of the 2018 SEC Swimming & Diving Championships at at Texas A&M's Rec Center Natatorium.

On the men's side, the Gators hold on to first place with 876, while Texas A&M stands in second with 779 points. For the women, the Aggies improved their lead with 953 points, and Georgia moved to second place with 748 points.

To begin the evening session, Jing Quah of Texas A&M won the women's 200 fly with a final time of 1:53.05. Megan Kingsley of Georgia came in second (1:53.27), and Sharli Brady of Missouri in third place (1:54.01).

Fynn Minuth earned the gold in the men's 200 fly with a winning time of 1:41.25. Angel Martinez of Texas A&M placed second with a time of 1:41.56, while fellow Aggie Brock Bonetti came in third place with a time of 1:41.57.

Asia Seidt of Kentucky was victorious in the women's 100 back, posting a top time of 50.86. Hannah Stevens of Missouri earned second with a time of 50.91, and Lisa Bratton of Texas A&M took third with a time of 51.10.

Javier Acevedo of Georgia became the first Bulldog to win the men's 100 back at the SEC Championships in two decades with a time of 45.26. Alabama claimed the next two podium spots with Luke Kaliszak in second at 45.68 and Zane Waddell in third at 45.83.

Anna Belousova of Texas A&M won the women's 100 breaststroke, recording a top time of 58.86. Fellow Aggie Jorie Caneta earned second place with a time of 58.91, and Madison Winstead of Kentucky took third with a time of 59.38.

Caeleb Dressel of Florida rewrote the record books once again this meet, this time setting the US Open, NCAA and American records in the men's 100 breaststroke with a time of 50.03. Mauro Castillo of Texas A&M came in second (52.1), and Peter Stevens of Tennessee finished third (52.29).

In men's platform diving, Juan Celaya Hernandez claimed first place after recording a top score of 474.50. Scott Lazeroff of Auburn finished second with a score of 452.65, and Colin Zeng of Tennessee earned third place with a score of 451.40.

The Tennessee foursome of Micah Bohon, Katie Armitage, Erika Brown and Stanzi Moseley won the women's 400 medley relay with a time of 3:29.26. Second place went to Texas A&M (3:29.40) and third place to Auburn (3:30.93).

Florida won the men's 400 medley relay as Bayley Main, Caeleb Dressel, Mark Szaranek and Jan Switkowski finished first with a time of 3:04.55. Texas A&M finished second in a time of 3:05.13, and Auburn took third with a time of 3:06.53.

The 2018 SEC Swimming & Diving Championships concludes on Sunday, Feb. 18. Preliminaries for the 200 back, 100 free and 200 breast begin at 10 a.m. CT. Prelims for the women's platform diving will begin at 12:30 p.m., followed by timed finals for the 1650 free. All preliminaries on Sunday can be seen on SEC Network+.

The evening session starts at 6 p.m. CT, live on the SEC Network, with the final heat of the 1650 free as well as the finals for the 200 back, 100 free, 200 breast, women's platform diving and 400 free relay. The trophy presentation for all the major award winners will take place at the conclusion of the meet.

2018 SEC Swimming & Diving Championships - Day Four (Feb. 17 - College Station, Texas) 

Wednesday's Final Results:

Men's Team Results (through 16 events):

1. Florida 876

2. Texas A&M 779

3. Georgia 753.5

4. Tennessee 690

5. Missouri 604.5

6. Auburn 575.5

7. South Carolina 551 

8. Alabama 506.5

9. Kentucky 488

10. LSU 364

Women's Team Results (through 15 events)

1. Texas A&M 953

2. Georgia 748

3. Tennessee 706.5

4. Kentucky 592.5

5. Auburn 528.5

6. Missouri 508

7. South Carolina 456

8. Florida 429.5

9. Alabama 407

10. Arkansas 329