The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

SEC announces 2019 Baseball Legends

882 days ago
SEC Staff
Photo: SEC

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- Four former standouts from Southeastern Conference universities have been named to the 2019 class of the SEC Baseball Legends Presented by AT&T. The 2019 class includes Alabama's Doug Duke, Arkansas' Johnny Ray, Florida's Josh Fogg and Vanderbilt's Jeremy Sowers.

The legends class will be recognized at the SEC Baseball Tournament, which will take place May 21-26 at the Hoover Met in Hoover, Ala.

Each legend will be recognized individually throughout the two quarterfinal matchups on Friday and will have on-field recognition and an awards presentation by SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey on Saturday, May 25 during the semifinals of the SEC Tournament. Fans will have an opportunity for autographs and photos with the honorees at the AT&T Legends Pavilion immediately following. Several legends will also participate in the annual SEC Youth Clinic on Friday morning.

Doug Duke, Alabama
Doug Duke was a standout catcher for the Alabama Crimson Tide from 1984-86, twice being named to the All-SEC list. A two-time All-American for the Crimson Tide, Duke earned second-team recognition as a sophomore before a first-team selection in his junior campaign of 1986. He owns the Alabama record for career slugging percentage (.758) and holds the single-season records by a catcher for average (.388 - 1985) and home runs in a season (27 - 1986). He went on to play professionally after being drafted by the Montreal Expos in the seventh round of the 1986 amateur draft. Following the completion of his pro career, Duke returned to college to pursue a medical degree at the Kansas City University College of Medicine and Biosciences, where he graduated with honors in 2004. He is currently practicing in Dothan, Ala., as a general surgeon and wound care specialist while also serving as the Flowers Hospital Wound Care Center's medical director.

Johnny Ray, Arkansas
A two-time All-Southwest Conference second baseman for the Razorbacks, Johnny Ray was a standout on the diamond in 1978 and 1979. The two-year letterman helped lead the Razorbacks to a combined 80-28 record in his tenure including a national championship runner-up finish in 1979. The Chouteau, Oklahoma native led the team in numerous offensive categories in both seasons as a Razorback including at bats (154-1978, 235-1979), runs (27-1978, 55-1979) and hits (47-1978, 77-1979). He also led the team in doubles in 1978 (8), triples in 1979 (12) and in RBI in 1979 (47). Ray was drafted by the Houston Astros in the 12th round of the 1979 MLB Draft, and in 1982 he was named the Sporting News Rookie of the Year. He played 10 seasons in Major League Baseball with the Pittsburgh Pirates and the California Angels. He made one All-Star game appearance as a member of the Angels in 1988.

Josh Fogg, Florida
In his final season in 1998, Florida's Josh Fogg led the team with a 2.03 ERA and 13 saves, earning First Team All-America honors and First Team All-SEC honors. His 13 saves in 1998 was a school record until Michael Byrne broke it in 2017. Fogg's 22 career saves rank third all-time in school history and his 103 career appearances ranks fifth in Florida history. He helped lead the Gators to two SEC titles (1996 and 1998) and the 1998 College World Series. Fogg was selected in the third round of the 1998 MLB Draft by the Chicago White Sox and played nine years in the Major Leagues with four clubs. He made 194 career starts with a 5.03 ERA.

Jeremy Sowers, Vanderbilt
Vanderbilt's Jeremy Sowers was a first-team freshman All-American in 2002 and third-team All-America by Baseball America in 2004. He was twice named second-team All-SEC (2003, 2004) and four times earned SEC Pitcher of the Week recognition. He ranks second in Vanderbilt history for career innings pitched (338.2) and is third in career strikeouts (327). His 123 strikeouts in 2003 rank sixth in team history. Sowers led the Commodores three consecutive seasons (2002-04) in victories, strikeouts and innings pitched. He was selected sixth overall by the Cleveland Indians in the 2004 MLB Draft, pitched four seasons (2006-09) for the Indians and currently works within the Tampa Bay Rays organization.

Previous SEC Baseball Legends
This marks the eighth consecutive year that the SEC has recognized a class of baseball legends. Last year's honorees were David Dellucci, Ole Miss; Ron Polk, Mississippi State; Alan Cockrell, Tennessee; and Mark Ross, Texas A&M. The 2017 honorees were: Ben McDonald, LSU; Don Kessinger, Ole Miss; Dave Silvestri, Missouri and Earl Bass, South Carolina.

The 2016 class featured Norm DeBriyn, Arkansas; Gabe Gross, Auburn; Cris Carpenter, Georgia and Scott Downs, Kentucky, while the 2015 class featured Andy Phillips, Alabama; David Eckstein, Florida; Mark Johnson, Texas A&M and Larry Schmittou, Vanderbilt, and the 2014 class featured Phil Garner, Tennessee; Jake Gibbs, Ole Miss; Jay Powell, Mississippi State and Bobby Richardson, South Carolina.

The 2013 class honored Hal Baird, Auburn; Terry Shumpert, Kentucky; Skip Bertman, LSU; and Gene McArtor, Missouri, and the inaugural class in 2012 included: Dr. Jeffrey Laubenthal, Alabama; Kevin McReynolds, Arkansas; Brad Wilkerson, Florida and Rev. Reggie Andrews, Georgia.