The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference
The Official Website of the Southeastern Conference

Thirty-six former SEC players on MLB postseason rosters

186 days ago
Photo: Scott Clarke/ESPN Images

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- A total of 36 players from Southeastern Conference institutions are listed on 40-man rosters of teams competing in the Major League Baseball Playoffs, which begin on Tuesday. All 10 teams in the postseason are represented by at least two former SEC student-athletes.

Florida, LSU, Ole Miss, Mississippi State and Texas A&M each have four former players on 40-man rosters of postseason teams. The Atlanta Braves lead all MLB teams with seven former SEC players.

The Major League Baseball Playoffs are scheduled to begin on Tuesday with the National League Wild Card game between Milwaukee and Washington.

A list of players formerly from SEC institutions who are included on 40-man rosters follows:

Atlanta Braves
Grant Dayton, Auburn
Josh Donaldson, Auburn
Dallas Keuchel, Arkansas
A.J. Minter, Texas A&M
Darren O'Day, Florida
Dansby Swanson, Vanderbilt
Kyle Wright, Vanderbilt

Los Angeles Dodgers
Walker Buehler, Vanderbilt
Ross Stripling, Texas A&M

Milwaukee Brewers
Jimmy Nelson, Alabama
Drew Pomeranz, Ole Miss
Bobby Wahl, Ole Miss
Brandon Woodruff, Mississippi State

St. Louis Cardinals
Harrison Bader, Florida
Dakota Hudson, Mississippi State
Mike Mayers, Ole Miss
Michael Wacha, Texas A&M
Tyler Webb, South Carolina

Washington Nationals
Aaron Barrett, Ole Miss
Max Scherzer, Missouri
Andrew Stevenson, LSU

Houston Astros
Will Harris, LSU
Alex Bregman, LSU

Minnesota Twins
Sam Dyson, South Carolina
Kyle Gibson, Missouri
Taylor Rogers, Kentucky

New York Yankees
Jonathan Holder, Mississippi State
DJ LeMahieu, LSU
Jordan Montgomery, South Carolina
James Paxton, Kentucky

Oakland Athletics
Daniel Mengden, Texas A&M
A.J. Puk, Florida

Tampa Bay Rays
Jalen Beeks, Arkansas
Peter Fairbanks, Missouri
Nathan Lowe, Mississippi State
Mike Zunino, Florida

Note: List includes 40-man rosters. Teams will declare postseason rosters at a later date.